Archives Department

The Archives Department collects administrative records, historical documents and manuscripts related to the UAE and other GCC countries from various sources such as government entities and international archives. The Department validates, preserves, archives the material collected, and makes them accessible to the public. Furthermore, the department collects old and contemporary photographs and archives them as per international standards.
This department includes five sections: Government Archives, Historical Archives, Preservation and Restoration, Digital Archives Section and Presidential Archives Section:

  • Historical Archives
  • Government Archives
  • Preservation and Restoration
  • Digital Archives
  • Presidential Archives

This section collects all foreign documents relating to the UAE and the Gulf region from International archives around the world. It also chronicles daily events and activities in the UAE, GCC countries, as well as Iran from local and other Arabian Gulf newspapers. Hard-copy documents are then scanned and indexed for easier and faster retrieval and accessibility to researchers, scholars and students. This section consists of three units: Arab Archives, Foreign Archives and Multimedia.

This section organizes federal and local government authorities’ archives by publicizing  archival culture and providing a number of technical, training and consultation services in accordance with  the Federal Law No. 7 of 2008 and its bylaws.  This assists parties,  concerned in document and archive management in government bodies, to perform their duties effectively and according to best international standards and specifications in archive preservation. This section is also engaged in collecting historical documents from government bodies and organizing destruction procedures. The section is made up of the following units: Government Archives Regulation Unit, Government Archives Development Unit and Archiving and Documenting Unit.
This section collects all historical documents pertaining to the UAE from federal and local government institutions in the country then it indexes, audits and publishes them as per international regulations and standards. The documents are then made accessible to scholars and researchers. The section also establishes rules and procedures for the collection of documents and the different records management mechanisms in government Institutions. It trains National Archives staff members as well as clients to archive their documents and records according to best practices. Additionally, the department is in charge of arranging and developing governmental archives as well as the documentation and archiving affairs.

The duties of this section include: protecting, securing and maintaining all types of hard-copy historical documents and restoring old documents, newspapers, rare books and photographs following the best international standards and practices. This section works, with the collaboration of different Authorities, on environment preservation by using environment friendly materials.
   
The section examines the National Archives collections periodically to inspect their conditions, and sets preventive measures to ensure their safety and repair all damages.

This section conducts scanning projects and the conversion of archival materials into digital or microfilm format as per the National Archives approved plans and policies. It also improves the preservation of electronic archives and selects the appropriate storing materials for both the National Archives and government Institutions. Furthermore, it contributes to setting preventive and corrective measures for long-term conservation of electronic storing materials. Moreover, it contributes to awareness campaigns and closely monitors developments in the field of electronic archiving. Besides, it assists government bodies in the evaluation of their electronic programs.

This section contains photos, videos and historical documents that document the march of the Late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan and the activities of H.H. Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE, at the local, regional, Arab and international levels, as well as  historical photographs and photos of senior community figures in general.
The section retains UAE’s maps; as it indexes photographs and paper and electronic maps and classifies them practically according to global standards and international measures related to photographs organization, classification, preservation and protection as well as promoting their use. The section has two units: Presidential Documents Unit and the Multimedia Unit.

إدارة الأرشيفات


تُعنَى بجمع السجلات الإدارية والوثائق، والمخطوطات التاريخية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ومجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية، التي يحصل عليها من مصادر عديدة كإدارات الدولة والأرشيفات العالمية، وتحقيقها وحفظها، وأرشفتها وإتاحتها للمستفيدين، إضافة إلى جمع الصور التاريخية والحديثة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وأرشفتها وفق المقاييس الدولية.
تتجلى مهام هذه الإدارة في الأقسام الخمسة التي تتبعها: قسم الأرشيفات الحكومية، قسم الأرشيفات التاريخية، قسم الحفظ والترميم، قسم الأرشفة الإلكترونية، قسم الأرشيف الرئاسي.

  • قسم الأرشيفات التاريخية
  • قسم الأرشيفات الحكومية
  • قسم الحفظ والترميم
  • قسم الأرشفة الإلكترونية
  • قسم الأرشيف الرئاسي

يُعنَى بجمع كافة الوثائق الأجنبية والعربية الخاصة بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ومنطقة الخليج العربي من الأرشيفات العالمية، إضافة إلى توثيق أحداث الدولة اليومية، ونشاطات دول الخليج وإيران من الصحف المحلية والخليجية، ويقوم بالمسح الضوئي للوثائق الورقية وفهرستها؛ لاسترجاعها بسهولة، وإتاحتها للباحثين والدارسين. ولهذا القسم ثلاث وحدات: الأرشيفات العربية، والأرشيفات الأجنبية ووحدة الوسائط المتعددة.

يعمل القسم لتنظيم أرشيف الجهات الحكومية الاتحادية والمحلية، عبر نشر الثقافة الأرشيفية وتقديم عدد من الخدمات الفنية والتدريبية والاستشارية طبقاً للقانون الاتحادي رقم 7 لعام 2008م، ولائحته التنفيذية، والتي تساعد المعنيين بإدارة الوثائق والأرشيف في الجهات الحكومية على أداء مهامهم بالطريقة المثلى، ووفق أرقى المواصفات والمعايير العالمية في مجال حفظ الأرشيف، كما يُعنى القسم بجمع الوثائق التاريخية من هذه الجهات الحكومية وتنظيم عمليات الإتلاف فيها. ويتبع القسم: وحدة تنظيم الأرشيف الحكومي، وحدة تطوير الأرشيف الحكومي، وحدة الأرشفة والتوثيق.
يجمع القسم الوثائق التاريخية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من المؤسسات الحكومية الاتحادية والمحلية، ثم يصنفها ويفهرسها، ويحققها وينشرها وفق المعايير والمقاييس العالمية، ويُتيحها للباحثين والدارسين، ويضع القواعد والإجراءات لجمع الوثائق، وآليات العمل المختلفة في إدارة الوثائق في المؤسسات الحكومية، ويساعد موظفي الأرشيف الوطني والمستفيدين على أداء مهامهم ذات الصلة بالوثائق بالطريقة المثلى. ويُعنَى هذا القسم بتنظيم الأرشيف الحكومي وتطويره، وبشؤون الأرشفة والتوثيق. 

يعمل لحماية الوثائق التاريخية الورقية التي يقتنيها الأرشيف الوطني بشتى أنواعها، ووقايتها وصيانتها، وترميم الوثائق القديمة، إضافة إلى مجلدات الصحف، والكتب النفيسة والنادرة، والصور، مستخدماً أفضل المقاييس العالمية والمواد الصديقة للبيئة، وذلك بالتنسيق مع الهيئات المختلفة.
ويقوم القسم بالمعاينة الدورية لمقتنيات الأرشيف الوطني لبيان حالتها، ويضع خطة وقائية تضمن سلاسة تلك الأوعية، وتخليصها من كل الإصابات التي ألمت بها.

ينفذ القسمُ مشاريع التصوير الضوئي، ويحوّل المواد الأرشيفية إلى الشكل الإلكتروني والميكروفيلم حسب خطط الأرشيف الوطني وسياساته المعتمدة، ويطوّر مجال حفظ الأرشيف الإلكتروني، ويختار أوعية تخزين المعلومات والوثائق الإلكترونية المناسبة في الأرشيف الوطني والمؤسسات الحكومية بالدولة، ويُسهِم في وضع خطط وقائية وتصحيحية لحفظ الأوعية الإلكترونية في المدى الطويل، ويُسهِم أيضاً في نشاطات التوعية، ويتابع التطورات في مجال الأرشيف الإلكتروني، ويُشارك في تقييم البرامج الإلكترونية المستخدمة في الجهات الحكومية.

يضم هذا القسم الصور الفوتوغرافية وأفلام الفيديو والوثائق التاريخية التي توثق مسيرة المغفور له –بإذن الله- الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، وأنشطة صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة -حفظه الله- محليًّا وإقليميًّا وعربيًّا ودوليًّا، إضافة إلى الصور التاريخية، وكبار شخصيات المجتمع عامة.
ويحتوي القسم على خرائط لدولة الإمارات، إذ يفهرس الصور والخرائط بأشكالها الورقية والإلكترونية ويصنفها بطريقة عملية مطابقة لأفضل الممارسات العالمية والمقاييس الدولية المتعلقة بتنظيم الصور وتصنيفها، وحفظها وحمايتها، وتعزيز سبل الاستفادة منها. وللقسم وحدتان: الوثائق الرئاسية، والوسائط المتعددة.