Biographies

Dr. Abdulla Alraisi earned his PhD in English Language and Linguistics from the University of Wisconsin in the US in 1997 and a Master’s degree in Innovation and Entrepreneurship from the UAE Higher Colleges of Technology in collaboration with Harvard, MIT and Stanford in 2007.

He served  at the Ministry of Education as a school teacher and principal from 1978-1990. In 1990 he joined UAE University as a Teaching Assistant and later was appointed as Professor of Applied Linguistics. During his tenure at UAE University, Dr. El Reyes published numerous research papers in the field of linguistics in international scientific journals. He is a founding member of Zayed University, where he was Director of Community Relations and Cultural Affairs from 1998-2000. In March 2000, he was seconded from UAE University to work as Director General of the National Archives (then known as the Center for Documentation and Research), a division of the Ministry of Presidential Affairs.

Dr. Alraisi was appointed the President of the Arab Regional Branch of the International Council on Archives from 2002 to 2006. During this period, he also served as Deputy Head of the Arab Club for Information, Head of the Reconstruction Committee for the Archives of Iraq before being elected as Vice President of the International Council on Archives in 2005.  Dr. Alraisi now also serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors of HH Sheikh Hamdan Bin Mohammed Bin Rashed Al Maktoum’s 1971 Initiative, Member of the Board of Directors of HH The UAE President’s Scholarship Program, Chairman of the Consultative Committee of the College of Arts and Sciences at Abu Dhabi University, Member of the Institutional Review Board at New York University Abu Dhabi, Member of the Committee for the Geographical Names of Abu Dhabi, Chairman of the UNESCO International Advisory Committee of the Memory of the World Program, Member of  the Executive Board of Sheikh Zayed National Museum and Qasr Al Hosn Festival.
A former international athlete, Dr. Alraisi represented the UAE National Team in track and field competition during the Pan Arab Games in Syria in 1976. He played handball for Al Ahli Club and represented the UAE University team in 1977. Dr Alraisi was the chief developer of the sport of bowling in the UAE, representing it as both player and administrator from 1978-2002. He held the posts of Chairman and Secretary General of the International Bowling Federation as well as Assistant Secretary General of the UAE National Olympic Committee, Vice President of the International Committee of Youth Games, and Deputy President of the School Sports Federation. He also served as a member of the Sports Committee of the Olympic Council of Asia, Member of the Sports Medicine Committee and Member of Planning and Follow-up at the UAE National Olympic Committee. In 2004, He led the UAE delegation to the Olympic Games in Athens as Chef de Mission, when the first ever UAE Olympic Gold Medal in the Shooting competition was won by Sheikh Ahmed Bin Hasher Al Maktoum.
Dr. Alraisi was honored by the government of France in being named Officier de l’Ordre des Palmes Académiques, in addition to being given the Order of Merit by the French Parliament, for his contributions in fostering the cultural relationship between the UAE and France. He was designated Graduate of the Last Decade by the University of Wisconsin in 2005, and three times was awarded the Order of Merit by the UAE Olympic Committee for his contributions to the development of Sport in UAE. 

Since 2014, Dr. Alraisi has continued to show distinguished leadership in the fields of archival science, scholarship, and international engagement. His work has resulted in elevation of the National Center for Documentation and Research to the National Archives of the UAE, responsible for maintaining and promoting the memory of the nation through authentic evidence of administrative, cultural and intellectual activities. Reflections of the evolution of Emirati society are showcased prominently in National Archives displays at the Qasr Al Hosn Festival and the Zayed Heritage Festival.
Dr. Alraisi has initiated the construction of a major new facility for records storage, preservation, and conservation while working with leading specialists internationally to advance the quality and accessibility of archival resources: with the University of British Columbia in Canada to implement Arabic language capability in the Multilingual Archive Terminology database maintained by the International Council on Archives; with the Issa Cultural Center in Bahrain to optimize accessibility to historical records throughout the Gulf region; with the Google Cultural Institute and the National Archives of the UK to make available world-wide electronic access to the photographic and documentary heritage of the UAE; and, through the innovative Watheq initiative, to facilitate retention and preservation of the rich documentation of UAE family histories.
Dr. Alraisi organized major international symposia in Abu Dhabi in September 2014 and January 2015, bringing to the National Archives prominent leaders from archival institutions throughout the world for discussion and evaluation of techniques in electronic archiving and records preservation as the UAE moves ever closer to the full realization of M-Government. In October 2015, he hosted the 12th meeting of the International Advisory Committee of the UNESCO Memory of the World Program, a distinguished committee of which he was unanimously elected Chairman. His exemplary leadership of the UAE National Archives along with the prominent roles he plays in support of other key organizations in the world are marked by persistent innovation in a framework of managerial excellence.

السيرة الذاتية للمدير العام

الدكتور عبدالله الريسي حاصل على شهادة الدكتوراه في اللغة الإنجليزية من جامعة ويسكنسن بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية عام 1997، وعلى شهادة الماجستير في الإبداع وريادة الاعمال من كليات التقنية العليا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بالتعاون مع جامعات هارفارد وإم.آي.تي وستانفورد الأمريكية في عام 2007.
تدرّج الدكتور عبدالله الريسي في عدة وظائف تعليمية أثناء عمله في وزارة التربية والتعليم بين عامي 1978 و1990 بدءاً من التدريس حتى أصبح مدير مدرسة. وفي عام 1990 انتقل إلى جامعة الإمارات معيدا ثم أستاذاً لعلم اللغة التطبيقية. ونشر ـ أثناء عمله في الجامعة ـ دراسات بحثية عديدة في تخصص اللغويات في الدوريات العلمية العالمية. وشارك في تأسيس جامعة زايد وعمل بها مديراً لإدارة شؤون المجتمع والعلاقات الثقافية بين عامي 1998 و2000. وفي مارس عام 2000 انتدبته جامعة الإمارات للعمل مديراً للأرشيف الوطني بوزارة شؤون الرئاسة (الذي كان يُعرف آنذاك بمركز الوثائق والبحوث).
تبوأ الدكتور الريسي منصب رئيس الفرع الاقليمي العربي للمجلس الدولي للأرشيف منذ عام 2002 وحتى 2006، وخلال هذه الفترة شغل منصب نائب رئيس النادي العربي للمعلومات، ورئيس لجنة إعادة إعمار أرشيفات العراق، وانتُخب نائباً لرئيس المجلس الدولي للأرشيف عام 2005. ويشغل حالياً منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة مبادرة سمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للمعرفة الوطنية، وهو عضو مجلس إدارة مكتب بعثات صاحب السمو رئيس الدولة، ورئيس الهيئة الاستشارية لكلية العلوم والآداب في جامعة أبوظبي، وعضو لجنة تقييم البحوث في جامعة نيويورك بأبوظبي، وعضو لجنة المسميات الجغرافية في أبوظبي، ورئيس برنامج ذاكرة العالم التابع لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (اليونيسكو)، وعضو اللجنة التنفيذية لمتحف زايد الوطني، وعضو اللجنة التنفيذية لمهرجان قصر الحصن.
وقد مثّل الدكتور الريسي المنتخب الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في ألعاب القوى في الدورة العربية الخامسة التي أقيمت في سورية عام 1976.  وكان لاعباً لكرة اليد في النادي الأهلي، ومثَّل فريق جامعة الإمارات عام 1977. ويُعرف عنه أنه أول من أسس رياضة البولنج في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وقد مثّلها كلاعب وإداري بين عامي 1978 و2002. وشغل منصبيْ رئيس وأمين عام الاتحاد الدولي للبولنج، إضافة إلى منصب الأمين العام المساعد للجنة الأوليمبية الوطنية الإماراتية، ونائب رئيس اللجنة الدولية لألعاب الشباب، ونائب رئيس اتحاد الإمارات للرياضة المدرسية. وشغل أيضاً عضوية اللجنة الرياضية للمجلس الأوليمبي الآسيوي، وعضوية لجنة الطب الرياضي، وعضوية لجنة التخطيط والمتابعة التابعة للجنة الأوليمبية الوطنية الإماراتية. وفي عام 2004 ترأس وفد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى الألعاب الأوليمبية التي أقيمت في أثينا بوصفه مدير البعثة، ونالت فيها دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أول ميدالية ذهبية أوليمبية في تاريخها فاز بها الشيخ أحمد بن حشر آل مكتوم في مسابقة الرماية.
حصل الدكتور الريس على وسام السعفة الذهبية الأكاديمية برتبة ضابط من الحكومة الفرنسية إضافة إلى حصوله على وسام الاستحقاق من البرلمان الفرنسي اعترافاً بإسهاماته في تعزيز العلاقات الثقافية بين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفرنسا. وقد حظي بلقب أفضل خريج في العقد الأخير من جامعة ويسكنسن عام 2005، ومنحته اللجنة الأوليمبية الوطنية الإماراتية وسام الاستحقاق ثلاث مرات تكريماً له على إسهاماته في تطوير الرياضة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
 ومنذ عام 2014 دأب الدكتور عبدالله الريسي على إثبات قيادته المتميزة في حقول العلوم الأرشيفية والدراسات الأكاديمية والإسهامات العالمية؛ وهذا ما ارتقى بالمركز الوطني للوثائق والبحوث ليصبح الأرشيف الوطني لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي يضطلع بمسؤولية الحفاظ على ذاكرة الوطن وصونها من خلال الأدلة الموثقة على الأنشطة الإدارية والثقافية والفكرية.
بدأ الدكتور عبدالله الريسي إنشاء مركز هام جديد لتخزين السجلات وحفظها وترميمها في الوقت الذي عمل فيه مع كبار المتخصصين العالميين لتعزيز جودة المصادر الأرشيفية وتطويرها وإتاحتها، وعمل مع جامعة بريتيش كولومبيا في كندا لإدخال اللغة العربية في قاعدة بيانات مصطلحات الأرشيف المتعددة اللغات في المجلس الدولي للأرشيف. و ساهم في إنشاء الارشيف الوطني في مركز عيسى الثقافي في مملكة البحرين ، و شارك مع معهد غوغل الثقافي لتسهيل الاطلاع الإلكتروني في كافة أنحاء العالم على تراث دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي يضم الصور والوثائق. وسعى من خلال الحملة الوطنية المبتكرة لتوثيق السجلات الشخصية "وثِّقْ" إلى الحفاظ على التاريخ الوثائقي الغني للعائلات الإماراتية.
نظّم الدكتور الريسي ندوات دولية كبرى في أبوظبي في سبتمبر عام 2005 ويناير عام 2015؛ فاستضاف في الأرشيف الوطني المؤتمر السنوي للمجلس الدولي للارشيف. وفي أكتوبر عام 2015 استضاف الاجتماع الثاني عشر للجنة الدولية الاستشارية لبرنامج ذاكرة العالم التابع لمنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلوم والثقافة (اليونيسكو)، وهي لجنة مرموقة انتُخب رئيساً لها بالإجماع. وتتميز قيادته للأرشيف الوطني ـ التي تُعَدّ مثالاً يحتذى، إضافة إلى الأدوار البارزة التي اضطلع بها في مؤازرة مؤسسات مهمة أخرى في العالم ـ بروح الابتكار المتواصل في إطار الإدارة المتميزة.