Dutch Era

The Dutch had obtained a concession for a while in Mocha, a Yemeni port on the Red sea, yet compared to the Red Sea, both the Dutch and the English companies had a much greater measure of success in the Gulf. The loss of Hormuz by the Portuguese in 1622 marked the entry of the Dutch and the English to the Middle Eastern markets where they wanted to concentrate their trade at Basra and Gombroon (modern Bandar Abbas). For the next 150 years, Bandar Abbas was to become the center of Dutch, British and French commercial and political activities in the Gulf. Initially, the Dutch had gained their foothold in the Gulf because of a joint action with the British. However, the two powers soon became rivals with an intensification of competition, especially after 1622 when the English East India Company moved its Gulf factory to Bandar Abbas, and the Dutch refused to pay them customs duty. Before long, the Dutch trading station at Bandar Abbas became more active and successful than the English station and they started a considerable trade with the Gulf region in sugar, spices, Indian cotton textiles, copper and iron.
In 1623, the Dutch concluded an agreement for the trade in silk with Shah Abbas I, under which they obtained the right of free trade on the Persian side of the Gulf in exchange for an annual purchase of a fixed amount of silk from the king. In addition to their main office in Bandar Abbas, the Dutch had a few smaller offices; usually one in Isfahan, and sometimes in places like Lar, Kerman, Bushire and Shiraz. Between 1623 and 1630, the Vereenigde Oostindische Compagnie (Dutch East India Company), or VOC, earned an enormous profit from the trade in Persian commodities, mainly silks. These silks made the Persian trade in those years more profitable than any other Dutch factory in the Indian Ocean system except for their trade system in Batavia. During the 17th century, their other Gulf offices in Basra and Muscat were of minor economic importance and were staffed only during the trading season.
By the 17th century, the Dutch had become the dominant naval power in the Indian Ocean and Arabian Gulf. The Persians permitted the British and Dutch to trade in their country because they expected military aid furthering their ambitions of regional dominance. Thus, the English and Dutch were bound by an alliance of sorts with Persia, and their economic interests in the Gulf were based on the trade privileges, which they secured from the latter. 
After securing its independence from Spain in 1648, the commercial activities of the VOC went on almost uninterrupted for about a hundred years of prosperity and success. The seizure of Muscat by the Arabs in 1650 from the control of the Portuguese was another event in favor of the Dutch. Shortly afterwards, several ships from Holland arrived at their factory in Gombroon (Bandar Abbas) which further augmented their trade and temporarily gave them the preponderance in the Gulf trade. Meanwhile, the Dutch, who had been at odds with the Persians about the trade in silk and were anxious to evade their customs, were offered a proposal, probably by Sultan bin Saif, the Imam of Muscat, to change the entire trade route. The plan was to carry merchandise by caravans from Qatif, a coastal area to the north of Qatar, along a road parallel to the coast through the areas of the Bani Yas and the Bani Khalid, to a port outside Portuguese control. The Chief of the Dutch factory, however, declined the offer with thanks. 
With the outbreak of the Anglo-Dutch war in Europe in 1652, the English lost their Arabian Gulf factories at Bandar Abbas and Basra to the Dutch. By gaining these factories, the VOC became the chief supplier of spices in Persia and the Arabian Gulf, which was a major reason for the Company’s commercial success there. In 1666, the Dutch entered into relations with Oman and, for a short while, there was an establishment of the VOC in Muscat. Records of imports into Persia and the Gulf confirm that the Dutch were deeply involved in inter-Asian trade. Thus by the mid-17th century, the Dutch had succeeded in expelling the East India Company from the greater part of the Arabian Gulf and, by 1680, they were firmly established both at Basra and Bandar Abbas.
The Dutch arrived in the Indian Ocean; thus asserting the freedom of navigation in the high seas and refuting the Papal decree of exclusive control of the Indian Ocean by Portugal. Like the Portuguese, the VOC and the English East India Company continued to use force as a method of procuring trade agreements and factory rights in Indian Ocean ports and adopted the Portuguese system of protection passes in order to facilitate their commercial ambitions at the expense of the local Indian Ocean mercantile communities. The Dutch and the English merchants took over the inter-port and export trade from the Indian Ocean system that in turn, led to the export of greater volumes of exotic merchandise to European markets. The prosperity from trade ushered in a new era known as the “Golden Age” in the Netherlands that witnessed all-round progress and development in the fields of arts and crafts. On the other side, the Gulf’s indigenous long-distance mercantile operations declined, resulting in the decline of the old commercial cities of Oman and the Arabian Gulf, and the rise of new cities like Muscat, Bandar Abbas and Bushire.
By the 1750s, Dutch power weakened because of the three-way warfare between them, the English and the French and they lost their holdings in most of the Indian Ocean with the exception of the Indonesian Archipelago. In the Gulf, the VOC’s factories in Bushire, Bandar Abbas and Basra were weakened by British competition, increased taxation levied by the Governor of Bushire and deteriorating relations with the Ottoman authorities. Consequently, the Dutch closed these factories in 1753.
After the closure of the three Gulf factories, the Dutch sought to preserve their position in the Arabian Gulf. They occupied the island of Kharg, which was offered to them by Mir Nasr of the Za’ab tribe, the Arab ruler of Bandar Rig. The Dutch strengthened their position there by erecting a fortress and a factory and took over the various economic activities of the indigenous Arab population including pearl fisheries. These activities led to the outbreak of resistance by the local Arab population under the leadership of Mir Muhanna who succeeded in liberating Kharg Island from the Dutch in 1766. This event was the first in the history of the Gulf Arabs to be reported in a newspaper that also mentioned, for the first time, the name of an Arab Sheikh, Mir Muhanna. The victory of Mir Muhanna marked the end of the VOC presence in the Arabian Gulf. Dutch merchants, however, continued trading between Dutch establishments in Asia and the Gulf and a considerable amount of shipping continued to sail between Muscat and Dutch Malabar.
The appearance of the Europeans in the Indian Ocean and Arabian Gulf not only led to a radical transformation of the structure and direction of oriental commerce, but also substantially added to the historiography of the subject. The depth of documentation and information left behind by the Portuguese was further enriched in the subsequent centuries by the massive records of the Dutch and English companies. Though dealing mainly with the Indian Ocean commercial system, these documents also contain graphic and detailed descriptions of the society and polity of the region. Dutch documents are of particular significance to the history of the UAE as they abound with invaluable information on a variety of subjects relating to the area. The name of Julfar (now Ras al Khaimah) appeared in a Dutch document as early as 1634 in the context of offering help to the Arabs who were fighting against the Portuguese there and in Muscat. That the coast of the Arabian Peninsula had its own long-distance shipping is attested to by a diary written in 1646, which refers to the arrival of a ship carrying sugar from Julfar to Basra.
The Dutch documents contain fascinating accounts regarding the emergence of the Al Qasimi rule. Sheikh Rahma bin Matar is mentioned as the Emir of Julfar shortly after 1718 when he was involved in the siege of the island of Hormuz. He is mentioned again in 1728 as one of the richest and most influential Arab merchants and the ruler of Julfar. Many years later, the Dutch documents confirmed that Sheikh Rahma had been recognized as the hereditary ruler of Julfar by Nadir Shah (1740). Tiddo Frederik van Kniphausen, the Resident of the VOC factory on Kharg Island, described Julfar “as a considerable town, fortified in local style, provided with some ordnance, and which is inhabited by the tribe of Huwala called Quassum”. He further added that several expeditions carried out against this place by the Imam of Muscat had all been unsuccessful, because he could not do “anything against the Sheikh of the Quassum, called Tschafel or Rachma Eben Matter, who is supported by several tribes of Bedu or Arabs from the desert. This Sheikh Rachma is at present the most powerful among the Huwala rulers. He has a force of his own people of 400 men armed with matchlock rifles in Zur (modern Sur). This has a good harbour, where the largest vessels can be berthed, and there are more than 60 vessels of which the majority is large and well-equipped, sailing as far as Mocha”.
By the first quarter of the 17th century, the Dutch had become the best compilers and editors of nautical charts and sailing books that contributed a great deal to the cartography of the Gulf. The sea-atlases, charts and maps, compiled by 17th century masters and published by the famous houses in the Netherlands, indicate that the Dutch maintained the lead until 1675. Early exploratory voyages conducted by the Dutch during the mid-17th century to interior areas of the Gulf and along the Musandam peninsula contain many fascinating references to towns and ports of modern UAE and Oman. The expeditions to the Musandam peninsula are of interest insofar as they give the first detailed description of the area. In 1644-1645, the Dutch ship Zeemeeuw (Seagull) explored the coast of the lower Gulf between Khasab and Dibba. Captain Claes Speelman made a drawing of Dibba bay and town that represents one of the oldest illustrations of a location in what is now the UAE.  In 1666, the hooker-ship Meerkat captained by Jacob Vogel made a trip from Gombroon (Bandar Abbas) to Muscat. After this journey, he wrote a detailed report on what he had encountered along the coast between Khasab and Muscat, providing as well a chart and a map of the Bay of Muscat.. Moreover, Dibba, Khorfakkan, Bidya and Kalba are mentioned amongst others, with additional detailed descriptions of contemporary lifestyle. Furthermore, notable references to the islands of the lower Gulf found in the records confirm that Dutch sailors had explored the island of Tunb. The island of Abu Musa was first mentioned in a Dutch map dating back to 1645-1646, while the island of Sirri, nearby, was recorded by their sailors in 1646. In April 1651, Captain Boudaen of the Popkensburg ship described his travels between the islands of Greater and Lesser Tunb and Abu Musa.

العهد الهولندي

حصل الهولنديون على امتياز في ميناء "المخا" اليمني على ساحل البحر الأحمر لفترة ما، إلاّ أنّ النجاح الذي حقّقوه مع الإنجليز في الخليج مقارنة بالبحر الأحمر، أكبر بكثير منه في الخليج. كانت خسارة البرتغاليين لـ "هرمز" عام 1622م، بدايةً لدخول الهولنديين والإنجليز الأسواقَ الشرق أوسطية لتكثيف تجارتهم في البصرة وغمبرون (بندر عباس)، وأصبحت بندر عبّاس في المئة والخمسين عاماً التالية مركزاً للنشاطات التجارية والسياسية الهولندية والبريطانية والفرنسية في الخليج. كان الهولنديون قد اكتسبوا في البداية معقلاً لهم في الخليج نتيجة لأعمالهم المشتركة مع البريطانيين، ولكن سرعان ما قويت المنافسة بين الدولتين عندما نقلت شركة الهند الشرقية الإنجليزية وكالتها في الخليج إلى بندر عباس بعد عام 1622م؛ وقد رفض الهولنديون دفع الرسوم الجمركية لهم، ولم يمضِ وقت طويل حتى أصبحت المحطة التجارية الهولندية في بندر عباس أكثر نشاطاً ونجاحاً من الإنجليز، وبَدَؤوا يتاجرون بالسكّر، والتوابل والأقمشة القطنية الهندية، والنحاس والحديد، في منطقة الخليج.

 أبرم الهولنديون اتفاقية مع الشاه الفارسي عباس الأوّل عام 1623م تتعلّق بتجارة الحرير، حصلوا بموجبها على حقّ التجارة الحرّة على الجانب الفارسي من الخليج مقابل شراء كمية محدّدة من الحرير سنويًّا من الملك. وإضافة إلى مركزهم الرئيس في بندر عباس، كان لدى الهولنديين عدد قليل من المكاتب الصغيرة عادة في أصفهان، وأحياناً في مواقع أخرى مثل: لار، وكيرمان، وبوشهر، وشيراز. ونتيجة لتجارتهم بالسلع الفارسية وخاصة الحرير بين عامي 1623 و1630، حقّقت شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية أرباحاً هائلة، ما جعل التجارة الفارسية في ذلك الوقت أكثر ربحاً من أي وكالة هولندية أخرى في المحيط الهندي باستثناء باتافيا. وخلال القرن السابع عشر، كانت مكاتبهم الأخرى في البصرة ومسقط تمثّل أهمية اقتصادية ثانوية، ولم يكن فيها أحد من العاملين إلاّ خلال موسم التجارة.

لقد أصبح الهولنديون مع بداية القرن السابع عشر القوة البحرية السائدة في المحيط الهندي والخليج العربي. كان الفرس قد سمحوا للهولنديين والبريطانيين بممارسة التجارة في بلادهم، لأنّهم توقّعوا المساعدة العسكرية في توسيع نطاق طموحاتهم للسيطرة على المنطقة وفرض سيادتهم عليها؛ وبذلك التزم الإنجليز والهولنديون بتحالف من نوع معيّن مع فارس، كما اعتمدت مصالحهم الاقتصادية في الخليج على المزايا التجارية التي حصلوا عليها وضمنوها من فارس.

استمرّ نشاط شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية VOC التجاري - بعد أن حقّقت استقلالها عن إسبانيا عام 1648م - نحو مئة عام من الأعمال التجارية والازدهار والنجاح دون التعرّض لأي إزعاج. كانت سيطرة العرب على مسقط بعد تحريرها من أيدي البرتغاليين عام 1650م حادثة أخرى لصالح الهولنديين، وقد أدّى وصول عدة سفن من هولندا إلى وكالتهم في غمبرون - بعد ذلك بفترة قصيرة - إلى مزيدٍ من أعمالهم التجارية جعلهم يتفوّقون مؤقتاً في تجارة الخليج. في غضون ذلك - وبينما كان الهولنديون على خلاف مع الفرس حول تجارة الحرير كما كانوا يسعون إلى التملّص وتجنّب دفع الرسوم- تلقّوا عرضاً من سلطان بن سيف، إمام مسقط، على الأرجح، لتغيير الطريق التجاري كليًّا، وكانت تلك الخطة تقضي بنقل البضائع بواسطة القوافل من قطيف- وهي منطقة ساحلية تقع شمال قطر، في طريق موازٍ للساحل عبر المناطق التابعة لبني ياس وبني خالد إلى ميناء معيّن خارج سيطرة البرتغاليين، إلاّ أنّ رئيس الوكالة الهولندية رفض ذلك العرض.

ومع اشتعال الحرب الإنجليزية الهولندية في أوروبا عام 1652م، فقد الإنجليز وكالاتهم التجارية في الخليج العربي في بندر عباس والبصرة لصالح الهولنديين، وأصبحت شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية VOC بحصولها على تلك الوكالات، المزوّد الرئيسَ للتوابل في بلاد فارس والخليج العربي، حيث حقّقت نجاحاً تجاريًّا ملموساً هناك. وفي عام 1666م كان لشركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية VOC مقرّ في مسقط لفترة قصيرة من الزمن. وتؤكّد سجلاّت السِّلَع الواردة إلى بلاد فارس والخليج أنّ الهولنديين كان لهم دورٌ كبير في التجارة الآسيوية. لقد تمكّن الهولنديون مع حلول منتصف القرن السابع عشر، من طرد شركة الهند الشرقية من الجزء الأكبر من الخليج العربي، ومع حلول عام 1680م ثبّتوا أقدامهم في البصرة وبندر عباس.

وصل الهولنديون إلى المحيط الهندي لتأكيد حرية الملاحة في أعالي البحار، ودحضوا القرارَ البابوي بجعل المحيط الهندي في سيطرة البرتغاليين. وقد استمرّت شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية VOC وشركة الهند الشرقية الإنجليزية - كالبرتغاليين من قبل- تلجأ إلى استخدام القوّة وسيلة للحصول على اتفاقيات تجارية وحقوق للوكالة في موانئ المحيط الهندي، كما أنّهم اتبعوا نظام البرتغاليين في إصدار تصاريح عبور "للحماية" لتسهيل تحقيق طموحاتهم التجارية على حساب المجتمعات التجارية المحلية في المحيط الهندي. لقد اتبع التجار الهولنديون والإنجليز نظام التجارة بين الموانئ، إضافة إلى تجارة التصدير التي كانت متبعة في المحيط الهندي، والتي أدّت بدورها إلى تصدير كميات هائلة من البضائع التجارية إلى الأسواق الأوروبية. وقد أدّى هذا الازدهار الناجم من التجارة إلى الدخول في عهد جديد في هولندا عُرف بـ"العهد الذهبي" والذي شهد على مدى النجاح الشامل والنموّ على صعيدي الفنون والصناعات اليدوية. وعلى الجانب الآخر، انحدرت العمليات التجارية البعيدة في الخليج ما أدّى إلى نهاية عهد مدن عُمان والخليج العربي التجارية القديمة، وإلى نهضة مدنٍ جديدة مثل مسقط، وبندر عباس، وبوشهر.

لقد ضعفت قوة الهولنديين، نتيجة للحرب الثلاثية التي قامت بينهم وبين الإنجليز والفرنسيين، مع حلول الخمسينيات من القرن الثامن عشر، ففقدوا بذلك معظم ممتلكاتهم ومستنداتهم التي كانت بين أيديهم في معظم أنحاء المحيط الهندي باستثناء الأرخبيل الإندونيسي، وضعفت سيطرة الشركة الهولندية VOC في الخليج على وكالاتهم في بوشهر وبندر عباس والبصرة نتيجة لمنافسة البريطانيين، ولزيادة الضرائب التي فرضها عليهم حاكم بوشهر، والعلاقات المتدهورة مع السلطات العثمانية. فكان أن أغلق الهولنديون تلك الوكالات عام 1753م.

ولكنّ الهولنديين حاولوا - بعد إغلاق تلك الوكالات الثلاث - المحافظةَ على مكانتهم في الخليج العربي ، فاحتلّوا جزيرة خَرْج التي قدّمها لهم مير ناصر من قبيلة الزعاب حاكم بندر رق العربي، وعمل الهولنديون على تقوية مكانتهم هناك بتشييد حصن ووكالة لهم، كما سيطروا على النشاطات الاقتصادية المختلفة التي كان يقوم بها السكّان العرب المحليون والتي تشمل صيد اللؤلؤ. وقد أدّت تلك النشاطات إلى مقاومة السكّان العرب المحليين بقيادة مير مهنا الذي نجح في تحرير جزيرة خَرْج من أيدي الهولنديين عام 1766م وتعتبر تلك الحادثة الأولى في تاريخ عرب الخليج يشار إليها في إحدى الصحف والتي تشير أيضاً وللمرّة الأولى إلى شيخ عربي. كان انتصار مير مهنا تحديداً لنهاية وجود الشركة الهولندية المتحدة VOC في الخليج العربي، إلاّ أنّ التجار الهولنديين ظلّوا يمارسون الأعمال التجارية بين المؤسّسات الهولندية في آسيا والخليج، واستمرّت أيضاً سفن النقل تبحر بكثرة بين مسقط وملابار الهولندية.

لم يؤدّ ظهور الأوروبيين في المحيط الهندي والخليج العربي إلى إحداث تغيير جذري في بناء التجارة الشرقية وتحوّلها فحسب، بل إنّه أضاف الكثيرَ أيضاً على الصعيدين التاريخي والجغرافي في الموضوع. وقد عملت السجلات الكثيرة لدى الشركات الهولندية والإنجليزية على إثراء المعلومات والمواد التوثيقية التي تركها البرتغاليون. ومع أنّ هذه الوثائق كانت تتناول بدرجة رئيسة النظام التجاري المعمول به في المحيط الهندي، لكنها كانت تحتوي أيضاً على مواصفات مفصّلة لمجتمع المنطقة ونظام الحكم فيها. فالوثائق الهولندية تشكّل أهمية خاصة لتاريخ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة؛ إذْ إنها تزخر بالمعلومات النفيسة التي لا تقدّر بثمن حول مجموعة مختلفة من المواضيع المتعلّقة بالمنطقة. لقد ظهر اسم جلفار (رأس الخيمة) في وثيقة هولندية يعود تاريخها إلى عام 1634م ضمن نصّ يشير إلى عرض لتقديم المساعدة إلى العرب الذين كانوا يقاتلون البرتغاليين هناك وفي مسقط أيضاً. وتؤكّد المذكّرة التي يعود تاريخ كتابتها إلى عام 1646م، أنّ ساحل شبه الجزيرة العربية كان له دوره في نقل البضائع بحراً إلى مسافات وأنحاء بعيدة، وتشير تلك المذكّرة إلى وصول سفينة من جلفار إلى البصرة محمّلة بالسكّر.

وثمة روايات مهمّة موجودة في الوثائق الهولندية تتعلّق ببروز الحكم القاسمي؛ فقد ورد ذكر الشيخ رحمة بن مطر على أنّه أمير جلفار بعد عام 1718م بقليل؛ عندما برز دوره في حصار جزيرة هرمز، كما أشير إليه مرة أخرى عام 1728م كأحد أغنى وأكثر التجّار العرب نفوذاً وكحاكم لجلفار. وبعد ذلك بسنوات عديدة أكّدت الوثائق الهولندية أنّ نادر شاه قد اعترف بالشيخ رحمة على أنّه الحاكم الشرعي والوريث لجلفار 1740. وقد وصف تيدو فريدريك فان كنيبهاوزن – المقيم في وكالة شركة الهند الشرقية الهولندية في جزيرة خرج- جلفار على أنّها "مدينة كبيرة، محصّنة على الطراز المحلي، وأنها مزوّدة ببعض المعدّات الحربية، وتسكنها قبيلة من "الهولة" تدعى القواسم. وأضاف في تقريره أنّ إمام مسقط نفّذ عدة حملات على هذا المكان من قبل، ولكنّها باءت جميعها بالفشل، وذلك بسبب عدم مقدرته للقيام بأيّ شيء ضدّ شيخ القواسم الذي يدعى تشافل أو رحمة بن مطر، الذي كان يسانده عدة قبائل من البدو أو عرب الصحراء. والشيخ رحمة هذا هو في الوقت الحالي الأقوى بين حكّام الهولة، فلديه قوة من أفراد شعبه يبلغ عددهم 400 رجل مسلّحين بالبندقيات اليدوية المعروفة بـ"أم فتيلة" في صور التي فيها ميناء جيّد حيث تتمكّن السفن الكبيرة من الرسو فيها، كما أنّ هناك أكثر من 60 سفينة معظمها كبيرة ومزوّدة جيّداً، كانت تبحر حتى ميناء مخا".


لقد أصبح الهولنديون في الربع الأوّل من القرن السابع عشر، أفضل الجامعين والمحرّرين للخرائط والبيانات البحرية والكتب المتعلقة بالإبحار، إذ أسهم ذلك إسهاماً كبيراً في رسم خرائط الخليج. وتشير الأطالس البحرية والبيانات والرسومات والخرائط التي جمعها سادة القرن السابع عشر ونشرتها دور النشر الهولندية الشهيرة، إلى أنّ الهولنديين تولّوا مركز القيادة حتى عام 1675م، وتحتوي الرحلات الاستكشافية القديمة التي قام بها الهولنديون خلال منتصف القرن السابع عشر إلى المناطق الداخلية من الخليج وعبر شبه جزيرة مسندم عدةَ إشارات مهمة إلى المدن والموانئ الواقعة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحديثة وعمان. وتعود أهمية الحملات القائمة إلى شبه جزيرة مسندم إلى أنّها تقدّم أوّل وصف مفصّل عن المنطقة. وفي فترة (1644-1645م) قامت السفينة الهولندية "زيميو" Zeemeeuw وتعني النورس باكتشاف ساحل الخليج الجنوبي بين خصب ودبا. ويعتبر الرسم الذي رسمه قائدها القبطان كليس سبيلمان لخليج دبا وللمدينة، أحد أقدم الرسومات لموقع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الحديثة. وقامت السفينة القديمة "ميركات" بقيادة القبطان جاكوب فوجيل برحلة من غمبرون إلى مسقط عام 1666م، وبعد هذه الرحلة كتب تقريراً مفصّلاً عن كلّ ما شاهده عبر الساحل بين خصب ومسقط، كما ترك رسماً وخريطة لخليج مسقط، وكذلك أشير إلى كل من دبا وخورفكان والبدية وكلباء ضمن الأماكن الأخرى، وأضيف إليها معلومات أخرى مفصّلة عن أسلوب الحياة فيها. وتؤكّد الإشارات المهمّة إلى جزر أسفل الخليج ضمن سجلاّتهم أنّ البحارة الهولنديين قد اكتشفوا جزيرة طنب، أما جزيرة أبو موسى فقد ورد ذكرها أوّلاً في خريطة هولندية عام (1645-1646م)، على حين ورد ذكر جزيرة صرّي القريبة منها لدى البحارة الهولندييين عام 1646م. وفي إبريل 1651م وصف القبطان بوداين من يخت Popkensburg رحلاته بين جزر طنب الكبرى، والصغرى، وأبوموسى.