The Formation of the Federation

Soon after assuming power on August 6, 1966 as the Ruler of Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan underscored the importance of the union and remarked, “In harmony and in some sort of federation, we could follow the example of other developing countries”. The significance of the union and the need to work in cooperation with the other Emirates was thus ingrained in Sheikh Zayed’s thinking early on in his career. Although he was fully aware that federation was a novel concept in the region, he had a firm conviction that it could be established based on common ties between the different Emirates and the history and heritage that they had shared together for centuries. To put his ideas about the union, cooperation and mutual support into practice, Sheikh Zayed earmarked a sizeable part of his Emirate’s income from oil to the Trucial States Development Fund long before the inception of the UAE as a federal state.

In 1968, the British Government, under pressure from adverse economic conditions, announced its intention to the terminate all its treaties protecting the Trucial States and to withdraw its forces from the Gulf by the end of 1971. This sudden decision, while threatening to create a military and political vacuum in the area, also helped to reduce the obstacles and difficulties that had hindered the earlier attempts to unify the Emirates. The very prospect of ending the special relationship that had existed between Britain and the Trucial States for one hundred and fifty years set in motion the process of achieving some form of association more formal and more binding than that represented by the Trucial States Council. Because of these new forces that had been mobilized, Sheikh Zayed, Ruler of Abu Dhabi, along with Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Ruler of Dubai, promptly initiated the first move towards establishing a federation. This federation was intended to be the nucleus of Arab unity and to protect the potentially oil-rich coast from the ambitions of more powerful neighboring countries.

The initiative taken by the Rulers of the two leading Emirates resulted in a meeting, on February 18, 1968, at Al Sameeh on the border between Abu Dhabi and Dubai. This was a historic meeting where Sheikh Zayed and Sheikh Rashid agreed to merge their respective Emirates into a union and to jointly conduct foreign affairs, defense, security and social services and to adopt a common immigration policy. Other administrative matters were left to the jurisdiction of the local government of each Emirate. This momentous agreement became known as the Union Accord and may be considered as the first step towards uniting the Trucial Coast as a whole. In order to strengthen the federation further, Sheikh Zayed and Sheikh Rashid invited the Rulers of the five other Trucial States as well as Bahrain and Qatar to join in the negotiations for the formation of a union.

From February 25 to 27,  1968, the Rulers of these nine states convened a constitutional conference in Dubai. For over three years, the eleven-point agreement, conceived in Dubai, served as the basis for intensive efforts to set up the constitutional and legal framework for this ‘Union of Arab Emirates’, comprising of these nine member states. Several meetings at various levels were held. The key issues were agreed upon in the meetings of the Supreme Council of Rulers, formed by the nine rulers of the Emirates. There were formal discussions by the Deputy Rulers and by various committees regarding the appointment of civil servants from these Emirates as well as external advisers. In the summer of 1971, it became clear that Iran no longer lay claim to Bahrain and the Ruler of Bahrain, Sheikh Isa bin Salman Al Khalifa, declared the island state’s independence on August 14, 1971. Qatar followed suit on September 1, 1971.

Next, the authorities in the seven Trucial States worked out an alternative to the ‘Union of Arab Emirates’. The Rulers of the six Trucial States, Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al Quwain and Fujairah (with Ras al Khaimah the seventh state still undecided), had decided to form the United Arab Emirates at a meeting held in Dubai on July 18, 1971. The foundation of an independent, sovereign state was formally proclaimed on December 2, 1971. When Ras al Khaimah joined on February 10, 1972, the federation was complete with the inclusion of all of the seven former Trucial States. This newly founded federal state became officially known as Dawlat al Imarat al Arabiyya al Muttahida, or the United Arab Emirates (UAE). A Provisional Constitution, based on an amended version of the earlier draft constitution of the nine Gulf States, was formally adopted. It defined as its highest objective, the common good of the UAE as a whole. The Provisional Constitution consisting of 152 articles, divided into a Preamble and 10 sections, specifying the powers that were to be vested in the new federal institutions, while all other powers were to remain the prerogative of the local governments of the individual Emirates.

The five central authorities outlined in the Constitution are:
1.    The Supreme Council consisting of the seven Rulers - it is the highest policy-making body of the state and is vested with the ultimate legislative and executive powers.
2.    The President and Vice President of the federal state.
3.    The Council of Ministers or Cabinet.
4.    The Federal National Council (FNC) - it is a consultative council comprising forty members drawn from the Emirates on the basis of the size of their population with eight deputies each from Abu Dhabi and Dubai, six each from Sharjah and Ras al Khaimah, and four each from Fujairah, Ajman and Umm al Quwain.
5.    The Judiciary: consists of a number of courts, with the Federal Supreme Court on the top.

The Ruler of Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, was elected by his fellow Rulers as the first President of the UAE, a post to which he was successively re-elected at five-year intervals. The former Ruler of Dubai, Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, was elected as Vice President, a post that he held until his death in 1990 when his eldest son, Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum, was elected to succeed him. In a meeting held on May 20, 1996, the Federal Supreme Council approved a draft amendment that made the country’s Provisional Constitution the permanent Constitution of the UAE and named Abu Dhabi as the capital of the federation.

The UAE embarked on its political agenda as a federation of seven regional states of different sizes, natural resources, population and wealth, but with a common history and heritage. Abu Dhabi is the largest in terms of area and is blessed with the biggest oil reserves. The federal institutions are largely financed by Abu Dhabi. Dubai was,  until 1971, the Emirate most associated with the concept of the city-state and continues to grow as the hub of the region’s trade and business. Some of the other emirates have always been endowed with relative wealth of water and arable land. However, despite these disparities, the UAE’s impressive record of progress has been possible, because of the success of the federation and the collaboration and harmony among its leaders who have been working hand in hand to achieve common goals.

The central authorities undertook, as their primary duty, to harness the wealth of the country’s natural resources for the benefit of the UAE as a whole. This contributed in a large measure to the success and continuity of the federation. The Rulers of the UAE, which today ranks among the top oil and gas producers worldwide, used its oil wealth with remarkable vision and foresight to improve the lives of its people and to create an infrastructure that supports a growing number of non-oil industries and activities. From the very outset, Sheikh Zayed firmly believed that “money is of no value unless it is used for the benefit of the people”. The social services provided by the federal ministries, especially free education, housing, healthcare and social support given to the Emiratis, paved the way for a rapid and phenomenal growth and development throughout the country. Finally, with the advent of modern technology, the UAE has been transformed from a developing country to a modern nation state within less than three decades.

Another important factor contributing to the political stability enjoyed by the UAE, since its formal inception, is the carefully planned and successfully implemented foreign policy of its leaders, primarily aimed at “promoting conciliation and defusing confrontation and conflict”. The cornerstone of the UAE’s foreign policy is to protect the sovereignty of the country and the independence of its citizens within the broader framework of Gulf security. Another key component of this policy has been the gradual expansion of the country’s political horizons, the forging of good relations with international powers and the cooperation with international organizations.

Thus, soon after its emergence as a full-fledged state, the UAE joined the Arab League and the United Nations. The UAE was one of the driving forces behind the foundation of the Islamic Conference Organization (ICO) in the 1970s. The establishment of the Gulf Co-operation Council (GCC) comprising the UAE, Oman, Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia, at a summit held in Abu Dhabi in 1981, reflects the UAE’s determination to foster cooperation and solidarity with the rest of the Arab World.

In this connection, we must throw light on the role of the late Sheikh Zayed, the founding father of the UAE,  especially as his stature had grown internationally in tandem with the enhanced status of the country on the world stage. Over the years, he emerged as a mentor and mediator not only in the GCC, but also within the Arab World and developing countries. A host of poorer countries and communities worldwide received financial and other forms of material aid provided by him in the name of the UAE. This was largely due to his humanitarian approach derived from his unshaken faith in Islam. Furthermore, the UAE armed forces were the only non-NATO force to help with peacekeeping operations in Kosovo. Therefore, it is not surprising that the spectacular generosity of this small country has drawn the attention of the world in terms of helping to alleviate the suffering of the victims of natural or man-made calamities.

The Emirates in general and Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah in particular have drawn international attention by offering wide-ranging economic opportunities, sports and leisure facilities, cultural activities and also  by creating awareness for the protection of the environment and wildlife and the promotion of tourism. The remarkable advancement of the Emirati women in every aspect of life constitutes another important yardstick for measuring the progress of the country as a whole. Accorded equal status and opportunities by the Constitution, women of the UAE today are making their presence felt in society in a pronounced way. Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak, Sheikh Zayed’s spouse, who takes credit for playing a major role in empowering women, established the UAE Women’s Federation in Abu Dhabi in 1975, along with its branches in all of the other Emirates. Furthermore, it is noteworthy that, despite overall modernization, the architects of UAE’s development take into consideration and recognize the importance of the preservation and continuation of their traditional culture and architecture as well as their time-honored heritage.

The success of the UAE’s political system lies in the fact that it represents a unique blend of the traditional and modern forms of government, with an inherent commitment “to consensus, debate and direct democracy”. The sacrifices and achievements of its Founding Fathers contributed to the emergence of this modern nation that replaced the previously separate emirates. The UAE is the only federal state in the Arab world that has not only survived, but also succeeded in creating a distinctive national identity with the passage of time. On the occasion of the celebration of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the successful federation, Sheikh Zayed noted with satisfaction and pride, “Our accomplishments have exceeded all our expectations. They have been achieved with the help of God and our sincere and strong will, and confirm that there is nothing that cannot be achieved for the benefit of the people if we have the firm determination  and sincere intentions”. The Federation of the UAE is, and will continue to be, a source of pride for the present and future Emirati generations.

قيام الاتحاد

أكّد الشيخ زايد -فور تسلّمه سدّة الحكم في السادس من أغسطس عام 1966م بإمارة أبوظبي- مدى أهمية الاتحاد، وقال معلّقاً: "نستطيع بالتعاون وبنوع من الاتحاد، اتباع نموذج الدول الأخرى النامية". لقد نمت أهمية الاتحاد والحاجة إلى العمل في التعاون مع الإمارات الأخرى، وترعرعت في فكر الشيخ زايد منذ البداية. ورغم إدراكه التام بأنّ الاتحاد كان مجرّد مفهوم حديث في المنطقة، إلاّ أنّ اعتقاده بإمكانيّة تنفيذه على أسس الروابط المشتركة التي تربط بين مختلف الإمارات، إضافة إلى تاريخ وتراث أبنائها الذين عاشوه معاً لعدة قرون، كان ثابتاً. لقد عمل الشيخ زايد على ترجمة مبادئه وأفكاره عن الاتحاد والتعاون والمساندة المتبادلة إلى أفعال، وذلك بتخصيص جزءٍ كبير من دخل إمارته من النفط لصندوق تطوير الإمارات المتصالحة قبل بداية دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كدولة اتحادية.

كانت الحكومة البريطانية قد عانت من ضغوط الظروف الاقتصادية المعاكسة، نتج منها إنهاء كافة المعاهدات لحماية الإمارات المتصالحة عام 1968م، وانسحابها من الخليج نهاية عام 1971م. ومع أنّ هذا القرار المفاجئ كان يهدّد بخلق فراغٍ عسكري وسياسي في المنطقة، لكنّه ساعد –أيضاً- على تقليل العقبات والصعوبات التي كانت عائقاً في طريق المحاولات الأولى لاتحاد الإمارات. لقد أطلق التوقّع الكبير لإنهاء العلاقة الخاصة القائمة بين بريطانيا والإمارات المتصالحة لفترة 150 عاماً الإشارةَ إلى نوع ما من الترابط الذي يتسمّ بالطابع الرسمي الأكثر قوّةً مما كان مقدّماً من مجلس الإمارات المتصالحة؛ ونتيجةً لهذه القوى الجديدة العاملة اتّخذ الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، حاكم إمارة أبوظبي، والشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم حاكم دبي، الخطوةَ الأولى نحو إنشاء الاتحاد. كان يقصد بهذا الاتحاد أن يكون نواةً للوحدة العربية، وحماية الساحل -المتوقّع فيه ثروة النفط- من مطامع الدول المجاورة الأكثر قوة.

كانت نتيجة المبادرة المتّخذة من حاكمَي الإمارتين الرائدتين، عقد اجتماع في الثامن عشر من فبراير 1968م في السميح، على الحدود بين أبوظبي ودبي، وقد وافق الشيخ زايد والشيخ راشد في ذلك اللقاء التاريخي على دمج إمارتَيهما في اتحاد واحد، والمشاركة معاً في أداء الشؤون الخارجية والدفاع، والأمن والخدمات الاجتماعية، وتبنّي سياسة مشتركة لشؤون الهجرة. وقد تُركت باقي المسائل الإدارية إلى سلطة الحكومة المحلية لكلّ إمارة. وعُرفت تلك الاتفاقية المهمة بـ"اتفاقية الاتحاد"، ويمكن اعتبارها الخطوة الأولى نحو توحيد الساحل المتصالح كلّه. وزيادةً في تعزيز الاتحاد؛ ولاهتمام الشيخ زايد والشيخ راشد بتقويته، قاما بدعوة حكّام الإمارات الخمس المتصالحة الأخرى، إضافة إلى البحرين، وقطر، للمشاركة في مفاوضات تكوين الاتحاد.

وفي الفترة من 25-27 فبراير 1968م، عقد حكّام تلك الإمارات التسع مؤتمراً دستوريًّا في دبي. وبقيت تلك الاتفاقية المكوّنة من إحدى عشرة نقطةً، والتي بدأت في دبي، مدة ثلاث سنوا ت قاعدةً للجهود المكثّفة لتشكيل الهيكل الدستوري والشرعي لـ"اتحاد الإمارات العربية" هذا، والذي يتكوّن من تلك الإمارات التسع الأعضاء فيه، وعُقدت في تلك الفترة اجتماعات عدّة على مستويات مختلفة من السلطة، والاتفاق على القضايا الرئيسة في اجتماعات المجلس الأعلى للحكّام، الذي يتكوّن من رؤساء الإمارات التسع. كذلك أجرى نوّاب الحكّام إضافة إلى لجان أخرى مختلفة، مناقشاتٍ رسميةً تتعلّق بتعيين الإداريين من تلك الإمارات ومستشارين من الخارج. وفي صيف عام 1971م أصبح من الواضح أنّه لم يعد لإيران أية مطالب في البحرين، فأعلن الشيخ عيسى بن سلمان آل خليفة استقلالَ الجزيرة في 14 أغسطس 1971م، تبعتها قطر في 1 سبتمبر 1971م.

عملت السلطات في الإمارات السبع المتصالحة على وضع بديلٍ لاتحاد الإمارات العربية. وفي اجتماعٍ عُقد في دبي في 18 يوليو 1971م، قرّر حكّام ست إمارات من الإمارات المتصالحة، هي: أبوظبي، ودبي، والشارقة، وعجمان، وأم القيوين، والفجيرة، تكوين الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وكانت رأس الخيمة، وهي الإمارة السابعة، في حالة من التردّد. وفي 2 ديسمبر 1971م أُعلن رسميًّا تأسيس دولة مستقلة ذات سيادة، وبعد ذلك، أي في 10 فبراير 1972م، انضمّت رأس الخيمة إلى الاتحاد، فأصبح الاتحاد متكاملاً باشتماله على الإمارات السبع. لقد أصبحت هذه الدولة الاتحادية المؤسسة حديثاً، تُعرف رسميًّا بـ" الإمارات العربية المتحدة". واتُّفِق رسميًّا على وضع دستور مؤقّت يعتمد على نسخة معدّلة من نصّ الدستور السابق لإمارات الخليج التسع، وتحديد المصلحة العامة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على أنّه الهدف الأعلى لها. تضمّن الدستور المؤقّت 152 مادة، مكوّناً من مقدّمة وعشرة أقسام، ويعمل على تحديد القوى المتعلّقة بالمؤسسات الاتحادية، بينما ظلّت القوى الأخرى تحافظ على حقّ امتياز الحكومات المحلية لكلّ إمارة من الإمارات، والسلطات المركزية الخمس المحدّدة في الدستور هي :
- المجلس الأعلى، ويتكوّن من حكّام الإمارات السبع؛ وهو أرفع سلطة دستورية في الدولة، ويقرّ التشريعات الاتحادية فيها، وأعلى المؤسسات التي ترسم سياستها العامة.
 - الرئيس ونائب الرئيس في الدولة الاتحادية.
 - مجلس الوزراء.
 - المجلس الوطني الاتحادي؛ وهو مجلس استشاري يتكوّن من 40 عضواً يتمّ اختيارهم من مختلف الإمارات وفق عدد السكان في كلّ منها، وهناك ثمانية مندوبين من كلّ من إمارة أبوظبي ودبي، وستة من كلّ من الشارقة ورأس الخيمة، وأربعة من كلّ من الفجيرة وعجمان وأم القيوين.
 - السلطة التشريعية أو القضائية؛ وتتكوّن من عدد من المحاكم، على رأسها المحكمة الاتحادية العليا.

تمّ انتخاب حاكم أبوظبي، الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، من قبل الحكام ليكون أوّل رئيس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهو منصب أعيد انتخابه بعد انتهاء فترة خمس سنوات. وكان حاكم دبي آنذاك الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، قد تمّ انتخابه ليكون نائباً للرئيس، وهو منصب استمرّ فيه حتى وفاته عام 1990م، وبعدها تمّ انتخاب ابنه الأكبر الشيخ مكتوم بن راشد آل مكتوم ليخلفه في ذلك المنصب. وفي اجتماع عُقد في 20 مايو 1996م، وافق المجلس الأعلى للاتحاد على نصّ معدّل للدستور، جعل من دستور البلاد المؤقّت، الدستور الدائم لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وعُيّنت أبوظبي عاصمة الدولة.

لقد بدأت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة برنامجها السياسي كاتحاد مكوّن من سبع إمارات إقليمية مختلفة من حيث مساحتها ومواردها الطبيعية، وعدد سكانها ومدى ثرائها. في حين تشترك جميعها بتاريخ وتراث واحد. وأبوظبي هي الكبرى مساحة، وتتمتع بأكبر مخزون من النفط، وهي لذلك تموّل المؤسسات الاتحادية بنسبة كبيرة. كانت دبي حتى عام 1971م، الأكثر ارتباطاً في الذاكرة بكونها المدينة – الدولة، وقد استمرّت في النموّ كمحور للتجارة والأعمال في المنطقة. ومن ناحية أخرى أنعم الله على بعض الإمارات الأخرى بموفور نسبي من المياه والأراضي الصالحة للزراعة، ورغم ذلك التفاوت، كان التقدّم المثير للدهشة الذي سجّلته دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ممكناً نتيجة لتحقيق النجاح في إقامة الاتحاد، وتعاون قادته، وروح الانسجام والتعاون الذي كانوا يعملون به لتحقيق الأهداف المشتركة.

لقد تعهّدت السلطات المركزية باستخدام ثراء البلاد من مواردها الطبيعية واجباً رئيساً لمصلحة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كلّها، وساهم ذلك إلى حدّ كبير في نجاح الاتحاد وديمومته. إنّ حكّام دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة التي تعدّ حاليًّا ضمن أعلى مجموعة من الدول المصدّرة للنفط والغاز على المستوى العالمي، قد استخدموا ثراء النفط برؤية محدّدة لتحسين معيشة كافة أفراد الشعب فيها، وتشييد بنية تحتيّة تساند مجموعة نامية من النشاطات والصناعات غير النفطية. كان الشيخ زايد- منذ البداية- يعبّر عن اقتناعه التام والثابت وإيمانه الراسخ بأنّه "لا نفعَ للمال إذا لم يسخّر لخدمة الشعب"، وكانت الخدمات الاجتماعية التي توفّرها الوزارات الاتحادية وخاصة التعليم المجاني، والإسكان، والرعاية الصحية، والمساعدات الاجتماعية للإماراتيين، قد مهّدت الطريق أمام تطوّر ونموّ سريع في جميع أنحاء الدولة. وأخيراً -ومع ظهور التكنولوجيا العصرية- تحوّلت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من كونها دولة نامية إلى دولة حديثة في أقلّ من ثلاثة عقود.

وثمّة عامل آخر هام أسهم في الاستقرار السياسي الذي تتمتّع به دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ نشأتها رسميًّا، وهو سياستها الخارجية التي خطّطها ونفّذها قادتها بنجاح تام، والتي تستهدف -بدرجة رئيسة- "دفعَ المصالحة والعمل لتهدئة الأوضاع المؤدية إلى المواجهات والمنازعات". كانت حماية سيادة البلاد واستقلال مواطنيها ضمن الهيكل الأوسع لأمن الخليج حجر الزاوية التي ترتكز عليها سياسة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الخارجية. وثمة عنصر رئيس مكوّن لتلك السياسة هو العمل على توسيع نطاق الأفق السياسي في البلاد تدريجيًّا، وتنمية العلاقات مع القوى الدولية، والعمل على التعاون مع المؤسسات الدولية. وهكذا، ما لبثت أن انضمت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بعد بروزها كدولة متكاملة وناضجة، إلى جامعة الدول العربية، وإلى منظمّة الأمم المتحدة، وكانت أيضاً إحدى القوى الدافعة وراء تأسيس منظمة التعاون الإسلامي في السبعينيات من القرن العشرين. ويعكس مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية الذي يتكوّن من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وعمان، وقطر، والبحرين، والكويت، والمملكة العربية السعودية، والذي تأسّس في القمة التي انعقدت في أبوظبي عام 1981م، مدى عزم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على تعزيز الوحدة والتعاون مع بلدان العالم العربي وتوثيق العلاقات معها.

لابدّ في هذا الإطار من التركيز في دَور المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان – مؤسس الدولة وباني نهضتها - وبصورة خاصة مع تطوّر وازدياد منزلته على الصعيد الدولي، والتي واكبت وضع الدولة في الساحة العالمية؛ فقد برز وسيطاً مُصلحاً في الأحداث في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، وأقطار العالم العربي والدول النامية. واستفادت دول فقيرة ومجتمعات عدّة على المستوى العالمي من المساعدات المادية والمالية التي كانت تُمنح لهم منه رحمه الله باسم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وهذا الأمر إنْ دلّ على شيء فإنّما يدلّ على مدى إنسانيته التي تستمدّ أبعادها من إيمانه الثابت بالإسلام. إنّ القوات المسلحة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي القوات الوحيدة غير التابعة لحلف الناتو التي تساعد في حفظ السلام في كوسوفو؛ ولذا، فليس من المستغرب أن يكون سخاء هذه الدولة الصغيرة قد لفت انتباه العالم بأسْره من حيث تقديم المساعدة، وتخفيف آلام ضحايا الكوارث الطبيعية والبشرية.

لقد حظيت الإمارات عامّة، وأبوظبي، ودبي، والشارقة خاصّة، باهتمام عالمي؛ لتقديمها - على مستوى الفرد- الفرص الاقتصادية واسعة النطاق، إضافة إلى التسهيلات الرياضية والترفيهية، والنشاطات الثقافية وتنمية الوعي لحماية البيئة والحياة البرية وتشجيع السياحة. ومن ناحية أخرى فإنّ التقدّم المميّز الذي أحرزته المرأة الإماراتية في كافة مجالات الحياة تشكّل مقياساً هامًّا آخر لقياس مدى تقدّم الدولة كلّها. إنّ فرص المساواة التي منحها دستور الدولة للمرأة قد ساعد النساء فيها للعمل على إثبات وجودهنّ في المجتمع بدرجة واضحة. وللاتحاد النسائي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة - الذي تأسّس في أبوظبي عام 1975م بجهود سموّ الشيخة فاطمة بنت مبارك قرينة رئيس الدولة - إضافة إلى فروعه الأخرى في الإمارات الفضل الأكبر في القيام بدور رئيس في تحرير المرأة. ومهما يكن من أمر فلا بدّ من الإشارة إلى أنّ المعماريين الذين يعملون في تطوير المظاهر العمرانية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة –رغم التحديث العام في الدولة- يأخذون بعين الاعتبار المحافظة على المظاهر التقليدية واستمرارها، وعلى التراث الموروث منذ أزمان بعيدة ويقرّون بأهميته.
يكمن نجاح النظام السياسي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في أنّها تمثّل مزيجاً فريداً من القديم والحديث، مع التزام فطري بالإجماع والمناقشة والديمقراطية المباشرة. كانت تضحيات ومنجزات الآباء قد ساهمت في بروز الدولة الحديثة بدلاً من الإمارات المستقلّة القديمة. إنّ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي الدولة الاتحادية الوحيدة في العالم العربي التي لم تبقَ وتستمرّ فحسب، بل إنّها قد نجحت أيضاً في تكوين واستخراج هوية قومية مميّزة مع مرور الزمن. لقد صرّح الشيخ زايد رحمه الله بمناسبة الاحتفال بمرور خمس وعشرين سنة من النجاح الذي حقّقه الاتحاد بكل فخر واقتناع: "إنّ كلّ ما تمّ إنجازه قد فاق توقّعاتنا بعون من الله تعالى، ثم بعزم وإرادة قوية وصادقة، ما يؤكّد أنّه ليس هناك شيء لا يمكن تحقيقه لخدمة الشعب ما دام العزم ثابتاً وقويًّا، وما دامت النيّات صادقة". إنّ اتحاد الإمارات العربية المتحدة لايزال - وسوف يستمرّ بإذن الله- مصدراً لفخر أجيال الإماراتيين الحاضرة والمستقبلة.