Students Private Archives

Where do you put your education certificates?  Are they in a safe place?  Do you put them in a plastic cover or are they still in the same condition as when they were handed to you?  Have their color changed? Have they been damaged along the fold?  Where do you keep your old family photos? Do you save them electronically? Alternatively, has this never come to your mind?  Where do you keep your birth certificate? Are your official documents, such as your passport and national identity card organized and preserved in a safe place or are they unorganized and randomly preserved?  Do you spent long time searching for your documents when you need them for carrying out a government transaction or are they preserved safely in the same place?
Keeping personal documents safe is one of the things that the National Archives seeks to highlight as it is one of the things that few people pay attention to.  There are two main points to note in this context, namely: First, saving official documents in a clean and safe place and, second, sorting and organizing documents according to their respective importance and date.

First: Saving documents

Official documents such as your passport, family book, academic certificates, birth certificate, job certificates, home ownership deeds, family photographs and share certificates, etc. must be kept in a safe place at home such as the treasury that is protected against fire and other hazards.  If you read any newspaper, you will often read stories of people who have lost their passports or share certificates.  People also tend to lose many personal documents in the house when they are thrown out by mistake or if the person forgets where he/she has placed them.

Second: Documents Sorting and Organization

You must have seen one of your family members or on television, a person looking for a document amongst a pile of papers so he/she cannot find it. Later, he/she thinks that the document is lost, however he/she accidentally finds it between other documents.  This scenario is, in fact, more prevalent than you might think and the reason behind it is the absence of a culture of conservation and organization.  Sometimes, the reason is that official documents are barely used but rare use of such documents does not imply lack of attention to them. Sorting and organization are very simple and necessary. It is very simple to keep and sort documents according to their type; travel documents together, birth certificate and academic certificates together, and so forth.  It is also preferable for personal documents to be kept in a specific bag and not be mixed with other documents or be kept in the same bag with financial savings or documents of lesser importance such as purchase invoices.
The aim of the National Archives is to highlight this issue and to begin the process of conservation and organization of individuals’ personal archive, which will, at the same time, help to create a comprehensive national archive.  The goal is to keep personal documents safe from disposal, loss or damage and organized to be easily accessible when needed.

الأرشيف الطلابي الخاص

أين تضع شهاداتك الدراسية؟ هل تحفظها في مكان آمن؟ هل تضعها داخل غلاف بلاستيكي أم أنها مازالت في الهيئة التي أُعطيت لك؟ هل تغير لونها؟ هل تقطعت الشهادة حيث طويت الورقة؟ أين تحتفظ بصور العائلة القديمة؟ هل تحفظها إلكترونيًّا، أم أن هذا الأمر لم يخطر ببالك أبداً؟ أين تحفظ شهادة ميلادك؟ هل أوراقك الرسمية مثل جواز السفر وبطاقة الهوية محفوظة في مكان آمن ومرتبة؟ أم أنها غير مرتبة ومحفوظةٌ عشوائياً؟ هل تبحث عن وثائقك دائماً لفترة طويلة عندما تحتاج إلى القيام بمعاملة حكومية؟ أم أنها محفوظة في مكان آمن وفي نفس المكان دائماً؟
إن حفظ الوثائق الشخصية هي إحدى الأمور التي يسعى الأرشيف الوطني إلى تسليط الضوء عليها كونها إحدى الأمور التي ينتبه القليلون إليها. وهناك نقطتان رئيستان في هذا السياق، وهما: أولاً حفظ الوثائق الرسمية في مكان آمن، ونظيف. ثانياً: ترتيب الوثائق حسب أهميتها أو أقدميتها.
بخصوص حفظ الوثائق، يجب أن تحفظ الوثائق الرسمية مثل: جواز السفر، وخلاصة القيد، والشهادات الدراسية، وشهادات الميلاد، والشهادات الوظيفية، وملكية المنزل، والصور العائلية، وشهادات الأسهم وغيرها في مكان آمن مثل الخزنة المنزلية التي تكون مجهزة بكافة الوسائل ضد الحريق وغيره. وإذا ما طالعت أي صحيفة فإنك ستقرأ دوماً عن أشخاص أضاعوا جوازات سفرهم، أو شهادات الأسهم. وكثيراً ما تفقد العديد من الوثائق الشخصية في المنزل حيث ترمى عن طريق الخطأ أو أن الشخص ينسى أين وضعها.
ثانياً ترتيب الوثائق. لابد وأنك شاهدت منظر أحد أفراد عائلتك أو شاهدت على التلفزيون شخصاً يبحث عن وثيقة ما في كومة أوراق ولا يستطيع إيجادها. ويعتقد بعد ذلك أنه فقد تلك الوثيقة ليكتشف بعد فترة بالمصادفة أن تلك الوثيقة موجودة بين الأوراق. هذا المشهد في الحقيقة أكثر انتشاراً مما قد يعتقد الكثيرون، والسبب غياب ثقافة الحفظ والتنظيم. وأحياناً يكون السبب أن الوثائق الرسمية لا تستخدم إلا نادراً. ولكن ندرة الاستخدام لا يعني إطلاقاً الدعوة إلى عدم الاهتمام بها؛ لذلك فالترتيب أحد الأمور البسيطة والضرورية جداً التي يجب القيام بها. والمبدأ هنا بسيط أيضاً وهو حفظ الوثائق وترتيبها على حسب النوع؛ فجوازات السفر مع بعضها، وشهادات الميلاد مع بعضها، والشهادات الدراسية مع بعضها وهكذا دواليك.
ويفضل أن تُحفظ الوثائق الشخصية في حقيبة خاصة لذلك الغرض، ولا تكون مع وثائق أخرى أو أن تُحفظ في نفس الحقيبة مع المدخرات المالية، أو الوثائق الأقل أهمية مثل فواتير الشراء.
ويهدف الأرشيف الوطني إلى تسليط الضوء على هذا الموضوع ليبدأ الحفظ والترتيب من الأرشيف الشخصي للفرد في نفس الوقت الذي يتجه ليصبح أرشيفاً وطنياً شاملاً. والهدف أن تكون الوثائق الشخصية بعيدة عن عوامل الإتلاف، والضرر، والضياع وأن تكون مرتبة ليكون الوصول إليها بشكل سريع ومنظم.