Documents Restoration Process

Very often, the archiving of documents, books, photographs and maps of great scientific and historical importance is neglected even in developed countries and countries that have a long history in archival science. Preservation of historical documents is a science in itself that has its requirements, methodology and approaches, which should be followed step by step to prolong the life of a document as long as possible. It is not unusual that a huge number of documents, which were not handled with due care or properly preserved, need to be restored.
With the passage of time, many documents are damaged, destroyed or disintegrated by normal wear and tear, chemicals and misuse or overuse, as well as accidents, such as floods and fires.  In many cases, the damage to documents is not discovered until after it spreads across the document, since acid is part of the chemicals in paper.  Insects and rodents are silent factors, the effect or damage of which is only discovered too late. A great many people will remember the story of the death of Prophet Solomon (Sulaiman), peace be upon him, which was only discovered when earthworms had eaten away his stick.  Similarly, damage to many documents is only discovered after they completely fall to pieces.
In addition to silent factors, there are also unexpected events like natural disasters and accidents.  A natural disaster that is still alive in the memory of many archivists is the earthquake that hit Portugal in the eighteenth century. It destroyed a document storage building and destroyed a large portion of priceless historical maps. In another accident, floodwater rushed into the lobby of a branch of the French National Archives, damaging thousands of documents, which were only restored with a great effort and a lot of money.  An example of unexpected factors is what happened in the Egyptian National Library, as terrorist acts of vandalism resulted in the burning of a huge number of rare Egyptian books and documents.  Many people hurried in to salvage as much as possible of the documents that were, at best, partially burned, in order to restore them as soon as possible. Salvaging efforts are still being made at the time of writing this article.
Poor storage is the most harmful factor to documents, as nothing can be done for documents, which are undergoing disintegration before the archivists’ eyes due to the lack of financial resources required to improve storage conditions. A large number of archives in many countries around the world lack air-conditioned document storage buildings, necessary to control the level of temperature and humidity, both of which are key factors in document preservation.
Finally, poor and frequent use of documents: Numerous documents are overused or misused by members of the public, who may be unaware of or unconcerned about proper handling methods. In many cases,  the  material of old documents are of poor quality and more fragile than modern paper, which people are used to handle and, consequently, parts of the document often disintegrate as soon as the document is handled if such a document is not encased.
Restoration is the main element in the preservation of documents and manuscripts. At the end of the disinfection and chemical treatment of documents and manuscripts, the Restoration Section proceeds with their partial or complete restoration. This depends on the size of the affected part of and the extent of damage to the document or manuscript. The process includes necessary repairs in terms of filling up any holes, adding missing parts and strengthening the sheet paper in addition to other restoration processes. The Restoration Section is a good example, which should be followed in establishing any other restoration sections, as it is an integrated laboratory with the state-of-the-art restoration equipment.

Restoration Section Equipment

The Section contains the latest tables equipped with illuminated panels and electric switches for the restoration work as well as a number of other equipment including:
•    Water distillation machine: distills water in order to be used later in document treatment and de-acidification.
•    Steaming device: used to separate documents and manuscripts sheets that are very firmly stuck together.
•    "Mylar" encapsulation device: used in covering documents at the end of restoration.
•    Thermal press: used to flatten and dry papers, and to restore some documents and manuscripts.
•    Dry cleaning device: sucks dust and dirt off documents, dries documents and manuscripts after treatment and de-acidification of same. It is a fast and an ozone based disinfecting device.
•    Thermal iron: used in manual restoration.
•    Hole filling device: fills up holes in the document by placing a paste that matches the paper thickness and color in a tub filled with water, which is then drained out through an automated drainage system.
•    Document lamination machine: restores documents automatically. Documents are covered with special paper. It is the first restoration device at the National Archives.
•    Paper cutter: used to cut documents according to size.
•    Polyethylene cutter: used to cut the required sizes from the polyethylene roll
•    Manual Press: used for pressing documents and manuscripts
•    Hydraulic thermal press: used in document restoration as well as in book cold pressing.
•    A toxic gases (fumes) extraction cupboard.

    Types of Document Restoration

  1. An artistic process that depends on dexterity and involves collating, binding and strengthening paper sheets, and then bringing the document back as close as possible to its original condition by restoring it and repairing damage caused by natural, chemical and biological factors. The restorer must be experienced in document restoration and conversant in international laws on restoration. The restoration process includes:
     (A) Manual restoration.
    (B) Restoration by plastic chip packaging or automatic lamination.
    Manual restoration aims at fitting in the missing pieces of a document and using chemically neutralized paper, which has the same thickness and is, more or less, of the same color of the original paper.
    Automatic restoration is one stage in the restoration process followed by the manual restoration stage, in which cuttings and missing parts of the document papers are brought together and completed. As a result, the final form of the paper we get is durable, soft and of good form.
    Automatic restoration is carried out on severely damaged documents that are difficult to restore manually; more precisely for documents that are on the brink of destruction and disintegration. It aims at salvaging such documents and preserving their documentary contents. Automatic restoration should be carried out with extreme caution because heat is involved.

عملية ترميم الوثائق

يحدث كثيراً حتى في الدول المتقدمة والدول التي لها باعٌ طويل في علم الأرشفة أن يُهمل حفظ الوثائق، والكتب، والصور، والخرائط التي يكون لها أهمية علمية وتاريخية كبيرة. فحفظ الوثائق التاريخية علمٌ قائم بذاته له متطلباته، ومنهجيّته، وأساليبه التي لابد من السَّير عليها خطوة بخطوة لإطالة عمر الوثيقة لأطول فترة ممكنة. وليس نادراً ما تستدعي الحاجة إلى ترميم كمٍّ هائل من الوثائق التي لم تحظَ بالاهتمام المطلوب أو لم تتوافر لها الظروف المناسبة للحفظ.
مع مرور الوقت يُصاب العديد من الوثائق بالتلف، والضرر، والتآكل بفعل العوامل الطبيعية، أو الكيميائية، وسوء الاستخدام وكثرته، والحوادث مثل الفيضانات والحرائق. وفي كثير من الأحيان لا يتم اكتشاف الضرر أو التلف الذي أصاب الوثيقة إلا بعد أن يكون الضرر قد انتشر انتشاراً بليغاً فيها؛ لأنّ العوامل الحمضية جزء من المواد الكيميائية الموجودة في الورق، والحشرات والقوارض هي عوامل صامتة ويلاحظ تأثيرها أو الضرر التي تسببه بعد فوات الأوان. وقد يتذكر الكثير قصة وفاة سيدنا سليمان عليه السلام الذي لم تُعرَف وفاته حتى نخرت دودة الأرض عصاته. وهكذا الكثير من الوثائق التي لا يعلم عن تلفها حتى تنهار تماماً كالفتات.
إضافة إلى العوامل الصامتة، هناك العوامل المفاجئة: الكوارث الطبيعية والحوادث. ومن الكوارث الطبيعية التي ما زالت عالقة في كثير من أذهان الأرشيفيين هو زلزال أصاب البرتغال في القرن الثامن عشر؛ إذ أصاب أحد مستودعات الوثائق وأتى على جزء كبير من الخرائط التاريخية التي لا تقدر بثمن، ودخلت مياه الفيضانات إلى بهو أحد مقرات الأرشيف الوطني الفرنسي، ودمرت الآلاف من الوثائق، وتطلب ترميمها بعد ذلك الكثيرَ من الجهد والمال. ومن أمثلة العوامل المفاجئة ما حدث في دار الكتب المصرية؛ إذ تسببت أعمال التخريب الإرهابية في احتراق كمٍّ هائل من الكتب والوثائق المصرية النادرة. وقد تدخل الكثير لإنقاذ ما يمكن إنقاذه من الوثائق التي احترقت جزئيًّا في أفضل الحالات وذلك لترميمها بأسرع وقت ممكن. ولا زالت تلك الجهود قائمة حتى لحظة كتابة هذا المقال.
يُعد سوء التخزين أكثرَ العوامل ضرراً على الوثائق؛ لأنه لا يمكن فعل أي شيء للوثائق التي كثيراً ما يشاهدها الأرشيفيون وهي تتآكل بسبب غياب الموارد المادية لتحسين ظروف التخزين. فهناك عدد كبير من الأرشيفات في كثير من دول العالم تفتقر مستودعات الوثائق فيها إلى مكيفات الهواء التي تساعد على التحكم في درجة الحرارة ومستوى الرطوبة اللتين تعدان من العوامل الرئيسة في عملية حفظ الوثائق.
أخيراً: سوء الاستخدام وكثرته؛ فهناك عدد من الوثائق التي تتعرض للكثير من الاستخدام على أيدي الجمهور الذي يكون العديد منهم جاهلاً بأساليب التعامل مع الوثيقة، أو قد يتعامل معها دون اهتمام كبير. وفي كثير من الحالات تكون الوثائق القديمة في حالة فيزيائية "ضعيفة"، فقد تكون أكثر هشاشة من الورق الحديث التي تعودت اليد على ملمسه. وكثيراً ما تتفتت أجزاء من الوثيقة بمجرد لمسها، إن لم تكن مغلّفة.
الترميم هو العنصر الأساس في مجال المحافظة على الوثائق والمخطوطات، وبانتهاء عملية التعقيم والمعالجة الكيميائية للوثائق والمخطوطات يبدأ قسم الترميم بترميمها جزئيًّا أو كليًّا، ويعتمد هذا الترميم على حجم الجزء المصاب ومدى الضرر الذي لحق بالوثيقة أو المخطوطة، وتشتمل هذه العملية على إجراء الترميم اللازم من حيث سد الثقوب، وإكمال الأجزاء المفقودة، وتقوية أوراق الصحيفة، كل هذا وغيره من عمليات الترميم الأخرى، ويعد قسم الترميم نموذجاً يُحتذى به عند إنشاء أقسام أخرى للترميم، فهو يعد معملاً متكاملاً من حيث التجهيزات الحديثة والمتطورة في مجال الترميم.

تجهيزات قسم الترميم:

يحتوي القسم على أحدث الطاولات المجهزة بلوحات مضيئة ومفاتيح كهربائية خاصة لعمل الترميم، إضافة
إلى عدد من الأجهزة الأخرى من أهمها:
•    جهاز تقطير المياه: يقوم بتقطير المياه لاستخدامها بعد ذلك في عملية المعالجة وإزالة حموضة الوثائق.
•    جهاز فك الأوراق الملتصقة: يعمل بالبخار، ويقوم بفك الوثائق والمخطوطات المتلاصقة التي يصعب فصل بعضها عن بعض.
•    جهاز كبسولة "مايلر": يستخدم لتغليف الوثائق بعد الانتهاء من الترميم.
•    مكبس حراري: يستخدم لفرد الوثائق، وتجفيفها وكذلك يمكن استخدامه في ترميم بعض الوثائق والمخطوطات.
•    جهاز التنظيف الجاف: يقوم بعملية التنظيف الجاف بشفط الأتربة والغبار الموجود في الوثائق، ويقوم أيضاً بتجفيف الوثائق والمخطوطات بعد معالجتها، وإزالة الحموضة منها ويتميز بسرعته، وهو جهاز تعقيم بالأوزون.
•    الكاوية الحرارية: يستخدم في عملية الترميم اليدوي.
•    جهاز سد الثقوب: يعمل على سد الثقوب الموجودة في الوثيقة حيث يتم عمل عجينة يراعى فيها سماكة الورق ولونه وتوضع بداخل الحوض المخصص مع الماء ثم يسحب الماء بواسطة شبكة تصريف صممت خصيصاً آلياً.
•    جهاز تصفيح الوثائق: يرمِّم الوثائق ترميماً آليًّا؛ إذ يعتمد على تغليف الوثائق بواسطة أوراق مخصصة، ويعد جهاز الترميم الأول في الارشيف الوطني.
•    مقص ورق: يقص الوثائق حسب حجمها ومقاسها.
•    مقص بولي اثيلين: يستخدم لقص المقاسات المطلوبة من رول البولي إثيلين.
•    مكبس يدوي لكبس الوثائق والمخطوطات.
•    مكبس هيدروليكي حراري: يستخدم في ترميم الوثائق، كما يمكن استخدامه على البارد في كبس الكتب.
•    خزانة شفط الغازات السامة.

    أنواع الترميم

  1. عملية فنية ذوقية تعتمد على المهارة اليدوية، وهي عملية تجميع الورق وتثبيته وتقويته، ومن ثم إعادة الوثيقة إلى شكل أقرب إلى أصلها؛ بترميمها وعلاجها من العوامل الطبيعية والكيميائية والبيولوجية. يجب على المرَمِّم أن يكون ذا خلفية علمية في ترميم الوثائق، وملمّاً بالقوانين الدولية لعمليات الترميم، وتشمل عملية الترميم:

    (أ‌) الترميم اليدوي.
    (ب‌) الترميم بالتغليف بالرقائق البلاستيكية أو التصفيح الآلي lamination.
    الترميم اليدوي هو استكمال الأجزاء المفقودة من الوثيقة، واستخدام أوراق متعادلة كيميائيًّا، وفي الوقت نفسه، بنفس درجة سمك ورقة الوثيقة الأصلية، وبنفس درجة اللون إلى حد ما.
    الترميم الآلي مرحلة من مراحل الترميم، وبعدها مرحلة الترميم اليدوي؛ لتجميع واستكمال القصاصات والأجزاء المفقودة من أوراق الوثيقة؛ فنحصل على الشكل النهائي لورقة وثيقة ذات متانة ومرونة وشكل جيّد.
    يجرى هذا الترميم في الوثائق شديدة التلف التي يصعب ترميمها باليد، وبمعنى أدق للوثائق على حافة التدمير والانشقاق؛ لإنقاذها وعدم فقد المحتوى الوثائقي لها، ويُجرى ذلك بحذر شديد؛ لاستخدام الحرارة.