Scientific Research Methods

Scientific research is the civilization’s innovative technique to understand the past, deal with the present and look into the future.  This was confirmed by His Highness Sheikh Saif bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Minister of Interior, when he said: "Scientific research is the effective drive for the human society’s progress and evolution, and the mainstay for upgrading the capabilities of all of the UAE sectors".
Writing the scientific research in the form of books and publications requires the researcher to acquire certain values, accurate and specific skills in how to collect, deduce and employ information and prove their sources.  The scientific research has specific properties, methods and steps, which the researcher should abide by to conduct a scientific research that meets the form and content requirements, as follows:

First: Researcher Characteristics

1. Desire for the research topic:

The researcher’s desire is an important factor in conducting a proper scientific research since it is always the motivations behind achieving success and excellence.

2. Neutrality and objectivity:

Neutrality means that the researcher must not make subjective judgment without evidences or proofs.  However, objective researcher uses reason and logic when writing his/her research and provides evidences and proofs that confirm his/her beliefs and conclusions.

3. Rely on scientific facts:

The researcher should not rely on personal observations and assumptions that are not based on fixed scientific facts. His/her research should be supported with evidences or proofs that confirm his/her findings and establish credibility for them.

4. Patience and perseverance:

A researcher faces several difficulties and challenges while searching for the required and appropriate information.  Therefore, he/she should be patient since fulfilling his/her aim requires perseverance and determination to overcome the challenges he/she faces otherwise the research will be doomed to failure.

5. Humbleness:

The researcher should be humble, and avoid arrogance and pride; he/she should not think that he/she is much more important than other researchers due to his/her significant and invaluable conclusions. That is because arrogance leads to the researcher’s downfall as it turns readers away from the researcher and his/her researches regardless of their scientific credibility.

6. Scientific integrity:

The most important trait of the researcher is maintaining scientific integrity, which means providing a reference citation when quoting text and ideas from other source.

7. Ability to carry out the research:

The researcher must be certain of his/her ability to undertake the scientific research and be passionate in the depth of that research and in making the deductions and conclusions whilst writing it.  It is also necessary for him/her to secure the necessary finances for travel, acquisition and photocopying of references, or the purchase of any necessary equipment.

Second:Characteristics of Scientific Research

1. Clarity and Comprehensiveness of the Research Title:

A research paper with a good title shows the researcher’s ability to give a concise summary of the research topic with specific, accurate and comprehensive words covering the research scope, topic, time and place.

2. Accurate Information and Scientific Facts:

The researcher should adopt the scientific research method based on accurate knowledge and fixed facts rather than his/her personal assumptions and judgments. He/she should also support his/her research with proofs and evidences that confirm his/her beliefs, conclusions and recommendations.

3. Research Scope Planning:

Identifying the time and place scope is one of the scientific research fundamentals as it should be limited to specific geographical areas and periods.

4. Innovation and Creativity:

Innovation and creativity do not necessarily mean that the research topic should be unique and unprecedented. However, it means that the researcher seeks to address a substantial and well-known idea related to a particular topic either by completing earlier researches that dealt with this idea or tackle it in a fully comprehensive manner. This will definitely be an added value to human knowledge, which indicates a creative spirit and predicts an enormous research talent and wider scientific imagination.

5. Citation and Referencing:

The researcher should respect the generally accepted research norms in terms of obtaining and verifying the information. He/she should provide the used sources and references in the footnotes including the author’s name, book title, publisher, country/ city of publication, year of publication and page number. Then, he/she should document these references in the bibliography, which include the referred books, bulletins and articles provided that each reference mentioned in the bibliography should also be mentioned in the main body of the research and vice versa.

6. Coherence between the Research Parts:

The research should be coherent and consistent across all its chapters, sections and other parts and in accordance with the scientific bases and methodologies so that each idea leads to the next one consistently. This means that the researcher’s arguments and conclusions should not be dispersed or contradictory as if it is more than one research.

Thirdly: Scientific Research Approaches

The scientific research has several approaches, including:


1. Descriptive Approach:

The descriptive approach is concerned with identifying the characteristics of the phenomenon, subject of the study, and describing its nature, type of relation between its variables and causes in addition to other aspects that deal deeply with the phenomenon. This approach does not aim to collect descriptive data only but also to analyze and interpret them in order to reach specific scientific conclusions.

2. Historical Approach:

The historical approach aims to describe, record, study and analyze the past events and incidents based on accurate methodological bases to reach new facts that help in understanding the present and predicting the future.

3. Experimental Approach:

The researcher relies on scientific experimentation when following the experimental approach in his/her research. Experiments offer the researcher a great opportunity to find out the truth. It can be said that this approach is the most important approach of scientific research as it helps people to achieve through observation and experimentation - correct conclusions and learning clear ways to deal with the various phenomena and explain them scientifically and accurately.

4. Philosophical Approach:

It is a cogitative, mental and analytical approach as the researcher tackles a topic mentally and addresses it based on his/her own thinking to find out the basic and real causes of the problem; subject of study.

5.    Inductive Approach:

The researcher deals with more specific observation to reach general rules and principles, which means that it is a bottom-up approach. It depends on observation, experimentation and various scientific research techniques in place.

6.    Social Survey Approach:

The Social Survey approach is the scientific study addressing a phenomenon or case that exists in a particular group in a particular place. This is one of the most important approaches of scientific research since it provides the researcher with data and information about the phenomena, events and groups of people related to the subject of his/her research.

Fourthly: Steps of Writing a Scientific Research Paper

1.    Selecting a Research Topic:
Selecting a research topic may seems difficult for a researcher either due to the challenges he/she faces when selecting a topic relating to his/her specialization, or lack of knowledge of the feasibility of the research. If the researcher is inclined to a specific subject, he/she should select an essential one and verify its feasibility and the need of his/her country and society to it as well as his/her ability to achieve it completely.

2.    Defining the Research Problem:

The research problem is the core of the study. The researcher may have inquiries and hypotheses in his/her mind about deficiencies, weaknesses or ambiguity in a certain subject, which requires study. He/she should take into account that the research problem lies within his/her academic specialization and research interests and it should be specific and of a scientific and practical value.

3.    Defining the Research Objectives:

The scientific research objectives are the purposes, which the researcher is seeking to achieve through research and investigation. Therefore, he/she should set specific objectives to identify the most necessary subjects, data and information to organize the research in specific parts clearly.

4.    Developing a Research Plan:

The scientific research plan is the researcher’s initial conception of how to write the research paper. It is a semi-detailed road map to be followed during the research.  In other words, it is known as the compass, which shows the researcher the directions during his/her research and through which the research feasibility and the researcher competency could be determined.

5.    Availability of References:

One of the serious problems facing the researcher in carrying out his/her research is the scarcity or lack of relevant references. Therefore, he/she should check the availability of relevant references and information upon the selection of a certain topic in order to save time and efforts and to move to an easier topic if such references are not available.

6.    Research Paper Body:

The research paper body is the main text, which is explained and furnished with footnotes. It is the core and content of the research where the researcher’s ideas, beliefs, analysis, followed procedures, used methods, and justifications for selecting this research are identified. It starts with the title page and ends with the table of content including the headings and subheadings, conclusion, recommendations, appendices, etc.

7. Research conclusions: 

The conclusion comes at the end of the research paper. It should contain a concise statement of the research results, the visions and facts in the field of science and knowledge as well as the nature of the recommendations proposed by the researcher to solve the basic problem and sub-problems.

8.    Research Appendices:

Some scientific researches contain an appendix or appendices that include official or legal documents, photographs or maps used by the research in his research. If any such appendix is included in the research, it is considered as a part of the research. Appendices come after the conclusion and before the Bibliography “references list”.

9.    Bibliography “References List”:

The sources and references list is the basis for the scientific research.  It is the first thing the reader sees so it has a great importance in forming the first impression about the researcher and it is also a way by which the reader verifies the researcher’s scientific integrity. Footnote citation and placing a footnotes list at the end of the research show the researcher’s objectivity and interest in showing the efforts of the others and recognizing their role in enriching his/ her research.

طرائق البـحث العلـمي

يُعدّ البحث العلمي تقنية الحضارة المبتكرة لفهم الماضي واستيعاب الحاضر واستشراف المستقبل؛ وذلك ما أكّده سمو الشيخ سيف بن زايد آل نهيان، وزير الداخلية، بقوله: "إنّ البحث العلمي هو المحرك الفاعل لتقدم المجتمعات البشرية وتطورها، والدعامة الأساسية للارتقاء بإمكانيات قطاعات الدولة كافّة".
إنّ تدوين البحث العلمي في صورة كتب ومؤلّفات تقتضي من الباحث اكتسابَ قيَم معيّنة، ومهارات دقيقة ومحدّدة في كيفية جَمع المعلومات واستنباطها، وتوظيفها وإثبات مصادرها. وللبحث العلمي خصائص ومناهج وخطوات معيّنة يتوجّب على الباحث الالتزام بها للوصول إلى بحثٍ علمي مستوفٍ شروطه الشكلية والموضوعية، وبيان ذلك فيما يلي:

أولاً: صفات الباحث العلمي

الرغبة في موضوع البحث:

تُعدُّ رغبة الباحث في خوض غمار البحث الذي ينوي القيام به عُنصراً رئيساً ومهمّاً في الوصول إلى بحثٍ علميٍّ رصين. فالرغبة الشخصية دائماً من العوامل والدوافع لتحقيق النجاح والتميّز.

الحيادية والموضوعية:

الحيادية هي التزام الباحث عدم الظهور في بحثه وكأنه يدافع عن جهة معينة وينحاز إليها دون أدلّة أو براهين تُثبت ما ذَهَب إليه، أما الموضوعية فهي حرص الباحث على تحكيم العقل والمنطق فيما يكتبه، والاستناد إلى الشواهد والبراهين التي تؤكّد قناعاته واستنتاجاته.

الاعتماد على الحقائق العلمية:

يجب على الباحث الابتعاد عن التأملات والافتراضات الشخصية التي لا تستند إلى حقائق علمية ثابتة، والحرص على أن يكون بحثه مُعزّزاً بالأدلة والبراهين التي تؤكّد ما توَصَل إليه من نتائج، وتُضفي عليها طابع القوة والمصداقية.

الصــبر والمثــابرة:

تعترض الباحثَ مصاعبُ ومشاقّ عدّة عند قيامه بالبحث عن المعلومات المطلوبة والمناسبة؛ ولذلك فعليه أن يتحلى بالصبر وسعة الصدر في رحلته البحثية؛ لأن وصوله إلى مبتغاه يقتضي منه عزيمةً ماضية، وهمةً عالية، ونفساً وثّابة؛ لتجاوز المعوقات التي قد تعترض سبيله، وإلا كان مصيره الفشل في مهمته البحثية.

التـــــــواضع:

على الباحث أن يتحلّى بفضيلة التواضع، وألا يتلبّسه الغرور والترفّع على الباحثين الذين سبقوه في مجال بحثه، لما قد يصل إليه من نتائج بحثية ذات قيمة علمية مهمة؛ لأن الغرور مطية هلاك الباحث، وسبب من أسباب نفور القُرّاء منه ومن أبحاثه مهما بَلَغَت مصداقيتها العلمية.

الأمانة العلمية:

إنّ أهم صفة أخلاقية يجب أن تنطوي عليها نفس الباحث هي الأمانة العلمية؛ إذْ إنّ نسبة الكلمات والعبارات والأفكار إلى صاحبها - إشارةً أو اقتباساً وتوثيقاً - تُعد من أهم شمائل الباحث وخصاله.

القدرة على إنجاز البحث:

يتعين على الباحث أن يتيقّن من قدرته على خوض غمار البحث العلمي، وأن يكون شغوفاً في التعمّق والاستنباط والاستنتاج أثناء كتابة محاوره المختلفة، كما يقتضي منه أيضاً تأمين متطلباته المالية، للسفر أو اقتناء المصادر والمراجع أو تصويرها، أو شراء الآلات والأدوات اللازمة لإنجازه.

ثانياً: خصائص البحث العلمي

وضوح وشمولية عنوان البحث:

يُظهر حُسنُ اختيار عنوان البحث قدرة الباحث على اختزال موضوع بحثه بكلمات محددة ودقيقة وشاملة؛ ما يقتضي التزامه باختيار عنوان مختصر يشمل مجال البحث وموضوعه وظرفه زماناً ومكاناً.

المعلومات والحقائق العلمية الدقيقة:

على الباحث تبنّي أسلوب البحث العلمي القائم على المعرفة الدقيقة، والحقائق العلمية المثبتة؛ لا على فرضيات من خياله واجتهاداته الشخصية. وأن يستند – على امتداد بحثه – إلى البراهين والحجج التي تدعم قناعاته، وما يتوصّل إليه من نتائج وتوصيات.

تخطيط حدود البحث:

مِن أسس البحث العلمي قيام الباحث بتحديد الزمان والمكان اللذين سيكون البحث في إطارهما. ولا يجوز له أن يجعل بحثه مفتوحاً على مجالات جغرافية أو حقب زمنية غير محددة على وجه الدقّة.

الجِـدّة والابتكار:

لا يُقصَد بالجِدّة والابتكار ضرورة أن يكون موضوع البحث فريداً من نوعه ولم يتطرق إليه أحد، وإنّما المقصود هو أن يقوم الباحث بالتطرق لفكرة أساسية ومعروفة لموضوع ما، سواء باستكمال أبحاث سابقة تناولتها، أو بالتعرض لها بصورة أشمل وأوفى، ما يقود إلى إضافة علمية مفيدة للمعرفة الإنسانية تنم عن روح إبداعية، وتنبئ بموهبة بحثية فذّة، وخيال علمي خصب.

التوثيق والإسناد:

على الباحث احترام القواعد المتعارف عليها في استنباط المعلومة وتحقيقها، والحرص على تثبيت المصادر والمراجع التي استعان بها في هوامش صفحات بحثه، بتدوين اسم المؤلف، واسم الكتاب، واسم دار النشر، واسم الدولة أو المدينة التي تقع بها دار النشر، وسنة النشر، ورقم الصفحة. ثم توثيق هذه المصادر والمراجع في قائمة خاصة تظهر في نهاية البحث، وتضُم الكتب والنشرات والمقالات التي رجع إليها، بحيث يكون كل مرجع ذُكِر في القائمة مُستَخْدَماً بصورة فعلية في مَتن البحث، وكل مرجع ذُكِر في متن البحث ظاهراً في القائمة.

الترابط بين أجزاء البحث:

يلتزم الباحث بأن يكون بحثه مُترابطاً ومُنسجماً في أبوابه وفصوله ومباحثه وأجزائه الأخرى؛ وفق أسس علمية وخطوات منهجية؛ بما يجعل كُلّ فكرة فيه تقود إلى الفكرة التي تليها، لا أن يكون مُشتّتاً في مواضيعه ومتنافراً في استنتاجاته وخلاصاته وكأنه أبحاث عدّة في بحثٍ واحد.

ثالثاً: مناهج البحث العلمي

للبحث العلمي مناهج عدّة، نذكر منها:

المنهج الوصفي:

المنهج الوصفي يقوم على أساس تحديد خصائص الظاهرة محل البحث ووصف طبيعتها، ونوعية العلاقة بين متغيراتها، وأسبابها، واتجاهاتها، وما إلى ذلك من جوانب تدور حول سبر أغوارها. ولا يقتصر المنهج الوصفي على جمع البيانات الوصفية لهذه الظاهرة فحسب، وإنما يهدف إلى تحليلها، وتفسير بياناتها للوصول إلى نتائج علمية محددة.

المنهج التاريخي:

يُستفاد من المنهج التاريخي في البحث العلمي وصف ما مضى من وقائع وأحداث وتسجيلها، ودراستها وتحليلها على أسس علمية منهجية ودقيقة؛ بهدف التوصل إلى حقائق جديدة تُسهم في فهم الحاضر واستشراف المستقبل.

المنهج التجريبي:

يعتمد الباحث في المنهج التجريبي على التجربة العلمية في بحثه، ما يتيح له فرصة كبيرة للوصول إلى الحقيقة. ويمكن القول: إن هذا المنهج يُعدّ أكثر مناهج البحث العلمي أهمية؛ لأنه يساعد الإنسان على التطور والارتقاء بالملاحظة والتجريب لتحقيق نتائج صحيحة، ومعرفة طرائق واضحة للتعامل مع الظواهر المختلفة، وتفسيرها تفسيراً علميًّا دقيقاً.

المنهج الفلسفي:

يُعدّ المنهج الفلسفي منهجاً تأملياً عقلياً تحليلياً؛ لأن الباحث فيه يتناول موضوع البحث تناولاً عقلياً، ويستند به إلى تفكيره الذاتي، للوصول إلى الأسباب الأساسية والحقيقية للمشكلة محل البحث.

المنهج الاستقرائي:

الاستقراء كلمة مأخوذة من "قرأ الأمر" أي تَتَبّعه ونظر في حالِه، وهناك من يرى أنها مأخوذة مِن "قرأتُ الشيء" بمعنى جمعته وضممتُ بعضه إلى بعض ليُرى توافقه واختلافه، وكلا الأمرين يأتيان بمعنى "التتّبع" لمعرفة أحوال شيء ما. وفي هذا المنهج يبدأ الباحث بتناول جزئيات بحثه ليصل منها إلى قواعد ومبادئ عامّة، ما يعني أنه استدلال تصاعدي يرتقي به الباحث من الحالات الجزئية إلى الأحكام العامة. ويتحقق الاستقراء بالملاحظة والتجربة وبمختلف تقنيات البحث العلمي المتبعة.

منهج المسح الاجتماعي:

منهج المسح الاجتماعي هو دراسة علمية لظاهرة أو حالة موجودة في جماعة معينة وفي مكان معين. ويُعد هذا المنهج من أهم مناهج البحث العلمي؛ لما يوفّره للباحث من بيانات ومعلومات تتعلّق بالظواهر والأحداث والجماعات ذات الصّلة بموضوع بحثه.

رابعاً: خطوات كتابة البحث العلمي

اختيار موضوع البحث:

قد يبدو اختيار موضوع البحث مُهمة شاقة على الباحث، للصعوبات التي يواجهها في انتقائه لأحد الموضوعات المتصلة بتخصصه، أو تعذر معرفته بحقيقة الجدوى من البحث فيه. فإذا وجد الباحث في نفسه ميلاً للبحث في موضوع ما، فعليه أن يختار موضوعاً حيّاً، وأن يتحقق من جدواه ومدى حاجة الدولة والمجتمع إليه. وقدرته على الاستمرار فيه إلى منتهاه.

تحديد مشكلة البحث:

تعد المشكلة البحثية المحورَ الرئيسَ الذي تدور حوله الدراسة، فهي أسئلة وفرضيات في ذهن الباحث بوجود قصور أو ضعف أو غموض في جانب معين يتطلّب استجلاءً لأمره.  وعلى الباحث أن يضع في اعتباره ضرورة أن تكون المشكلة البحثية في نطاق تخصصه الدراسي، وضمن اهتماماته البحثية، وأن تكون محددة وذات قيمة علمية وعملية.

تحديد أهداف البحث:

أهداف البحث العلمي، هي الأغراض التي يسعى الباحث إلى تحقيقها عن طريق البحث والتقصي؛ ولذلك عليه وضع أهداف محددة لبحثه؛ لحصر ما هو ضروري من المواضيع والبيانات والمعلومات اللازمة لتنظيمه في أجزاء محددة وأسلوب واضح.

وضع خطة للبحث

خطة البحث العلمي هي التصوّر المسبق للباحث في كيفية كتابة بحثه. وهي الخريطة شبه التفصيلية التي سيلتزم بها أثناء عملية البحث. وتُعرف أيضاً أنها: البوصلة التي يهتدي بها الباحث في مسيرته البحثية. وبها يمكن الحُكم على جدوى البحث وجدارة الباحث.

إمكانية الحصول على مراجع للبحث:

من أهم المعوقات التي تعترض سبيلَ الباحث في رحلته البحثية هي ندرة المراجع ذات الصّلة ببحثه أو عدم وجودها؛ ولذلك فإنّ عليه التأكّد - عند اختياره لموضوع ما - من وجود المراجع والمعلومات المتعلقة به كسباً للجهد والوقت، والانصراف إلى موضوع آخر أكثر سهولة ويسراً إن تعذّر عليه ذلك.

مَـتْن البحث:

مَتْن البحث هو الأصلُ الذي يُشرَحُ وتضاف إِليه الحواشي، فهو أصل البحث ومحتواه، وفيه تبرز أفكار الباحث وقناعاته وتحليلاته، والإجراءات التي اتبعها، والأسلوب الذي استخدمه، ومبررات اختياره له. ومتن البحث يبدأ بصفحة العنوان وينتهي بقائمة المحتويات.  بما يتضمنه من عناوين رئيسة وفرعية، وخاتمة وتوصيات وملاحق وغيرها.

خاتمة البحث:

تأتي خاتمة البحث العلمي في نهايته، ويجب أن تتضمن بياناً مكثّفاً ومختصراً لنتائج البحث، وما تَبَدّى فيه من رؤى وحقائق في ميدان العلم والمعرفة، وكذا طبيعة التوصيات التي اقترحها الباحث لتسوية الإشكالية الأساسية والإشكاليات الفرعية التي عرضها في متن البحث.

ملاحق البحث:

تحتوي بعض الأبحاث العلمية على ملاحق أو ملحق يتضمن الوثائق الرسمية أو القانونية، أو الصور أو الخرائط التي اعتمد عليها الباحث واستغل مادتها في بحثه؛ فإذا تضمن البحث ملحقاً من هذا النوع فإنه يُعدّ جزءاً منه. وتأتي هذه الملاحق بعد خاتمة البحث وقبل قائمة المراجع.

مراجع البحث:

تُعد قائمة المصادر والمراجع السندَ الأساس الذي تستند إليه عملية التوثيق في البحث العلمي. وهي بلا شك أول ما يطلع عليه القارئ، ولذلك فهي ذات أهمية كبرى في تكوين الانطباع الأول عن الباحث، وإحدى الوسائل التي يتحقق بها القارئ من مدى أمانته العلمية. إن كتابة الهوامش ووضع قائمة بها في نهاية البحث تُعبر عن موضوعية الباحث وحرصه على إبراز جهود الآخرين والاعتراف بدورها في رفد بحثه العلمي.