Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum

Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum















•    Duration of his Rule: 32 years
•    Full name: Rashid Bin Saeed Bin Maktoum Bin Hasher Bin Maktoum Bin Butti Bin Suhail Al Maktoum Al Falasi
•    1912-1990

Various sources disagree on the actual date of birth of Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, but it is likely that he was born in 1912. He grew up in Al Shandagha neighborhood and was raised by his father Sheikh Saeed Bin Maktoum Al Maktoum, who was known for his piety, wisdom, patience and prudence. His mother is Sheikha Hessa Bint Al Mur Bin Hureiz Al Falasi; she was popularly known as Um Dubai “Mother of Dubai” and she enjoyed a special place in the hearts of Dubai people, as she was known to be resolute, strong-willed and ambitious. She was renowned for her generosity, philanthropy, and helping the needy. Sheikha Hessa had a clear impact on her son Sheikh Rashid’s personality.  Sheikh Rashid received his first education at katateeb, as the area then lacked formal schools. There he learnt the principles of Islamic jurisprudence and Arabic language. At the beginning of the formal education and the opening of Al Ahmadiya School, Sheikh Rashid was one of the first students to be enrolled. From a young age, he was mature and his thinking was ahead of his time. He was known as a diligent young man who had an inquisitive mind. Falconry, horseback and camel riding and shooting are some of his most cherished hobbies.
Sheikh Rashid had regularly attended his father’s majlis (court) from which he immensely benefitted as he learnt how to run the affairs of the state; he kept abreast of all the proceedings and activities of the majlis to help him learn how to run the government and how to shoulder the responsibility after his father.  In 1939, he was appointed Crown Prince. He helped his father run the state, and demonstrated his ability to assume the responsibility. He was able to save Dubai from several economic crises, notably the decline of pearl trade and the maritime blockade, which Britain imposed on the Arab Gulf ports after World War II. In 1958, he assumed the reins of government in the Emirate of Dubai, which he ruled for 32 years during which the Emirate witnessed rapid growth in all fields. 
After the demise of his father Sheikh Saeed Bin Maktoum in 1958, Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed and his family moved to his father’s palace in Zaabeel. Since he assumed power, he made sure to establish Dubai as a commercial hub, especially that oil revenues then were hardly sufficient to meet the Emirate’s obligations. Hence, he looked after the markets, supported businessmen, encouraged commercial investment in the Emirate and devised a long-term plan and a futuristic vision for the city of Dubai. He was interested in establishing government departments that provide services to the people and contribute to the development of the Emirate, such as the municipality and the land, police customs, electricity, water and other departments as well as the courts of law.
Rashid was a politician and had good brotherly relations with all the Rulers of the Arabian Gulf. He laid the cornerstone for modern Dubai and paid attention to construction and commerce. He harnessed all resources for his country’s benefit, as the commercial production of Dubai oil began in earnest in 1966.  For this purpose, Sheikh Rashid established a Department for Oil Affairs, as well as Judicial, and Aviation Departments. Dubai was undergoing a real transformation. Sheikh Rashid broadened and deepened the creek, as its shallow water posed a threat to navigation and made it hard for large vessels to enter it. The deepening project was accomplished, and Dubai Creek became one of the best commercial and economic harbors.
Dubai saw a development boom, including the construction of roads, an airport and seaports. In October 1972, Port Rashid was inaugurated. It was a huge harbor that underpinned the economy of the Emirate of Dubai in particular and the UAE in general. Sheikh Rashid encouraged businesses and businessmen. He aspired to increase his state resources and encouraged international shipping lines to come to Dubai. Thus, it became a commercial center between East and West.
Under the leadership of the wise and intelligent Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed, Dubai played a significant role in the establishment of the UAE; his views coincided with those of Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan on the importance of establishing a union of the seven Emirates on the Arabian Gulf coast. In February 1968, such efforts culminated in the signing of the famous Al Samih treaty establishing a union between the two Emirates, and on December 2, 1971, this bilateral union was followed by the proclamation of a federation of the seven Emirates. 
After a reign replete with achievements, that transformed Dubai from a modest Sheikhdom into a buzzing commercial hub, Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed passed away in October 1990.

الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم طيَّب الله ثراه

Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum















•    1912-1990م
•    الاسم الكامل: راشد بن سعيد بن مكتوم بن حشر بن مكتوم بن بطي بن سهيل آل مكتوم الفلاسي
•    مدة الحكم: 32 سنة


اختلفت المصادر في تحديد سنة ولادة الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، وعلى الأرجح أنه ولد عام 1912م، نشأ في منطقة الشندغة بإمارة دبي في كنف والده الشيخ سعيد بن مكتوم آل مكتوم المعروف بالتقوى والحكمة وسعة الصدر ورجاحة العقل. والدته هي الشيخة حصة بنت المر بن حريز الفلاسي المعروفة بـ (أم دبي) كانت لها مكانة خاصة في قلوب أهل دبي، عُرفت بقوة تحملها وإرادتها العالية وطموحها واشتهرت بكرمها وحبها للخير ومدّ يد العون لكل محتاج، كان تأثير الشيخة حصة واضحاً في شخصية ابنها الشيخ راشد، تلقى الشيخ راشد دراسته الأولى في الكتاتيب حيث كانت المنطقة حينها تفتقر وجود المدارس النظامية، وتعلم أصول الفقه الإسلامي واللغة العربية، وعند بداية الدراسة النظامية وافتتاح المدرسة الأحمدية كان الشيخ راشد من أوائل الطلبة الملتحقين بها، ومنذ صغره اتصف بنضجه وفكره السابق لعصره، وعُرف بأنه شابٌّ مثابرٌ ومحبٌّ للبحث والاطلاع، ومن أهم هواياته الصيد بالصقور وركوب الهجن والخيل والرماية.
ارتبط الشيخ راشد بمجلس أبيه واستفاد منه الكثير؛ إذ تعلم كيفية إدارة المنطقة وتسيير أمورها وكان مطّلعاً على كل ما يحدث في هذا المجلس ليتعرّف أمور الحكم ويتدرّب على تحمل المسؤولية من بعد والده، وقد عُيّن الشيخ راشد ولياً للعهد عام 1939م وساند والده في تسيير شؤون المنطقة، وأثبت جدارته في تحمل المسؤولية، واستطاع أن ينهض بدبي من أزمات اقتصادية كثيرة أهمها أزمة انهيار تجارة اللؤلؤ والحصار البحري الذي فرضته بريطانيا على موانئ الخليج العربي بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية، تولى حكم إمارة دبي عام 1958م، وامتدت سنوات حكمه اثنين وثلاثين عاماً، تطورت فيها دبي ونمت نموًّا سريعاً في كل المجالات.
بعد وفاة والده الشيخ سعيد بن مكتوم عام 1958م انتقل الشيخ راشد بن سعيد مع عائلته للإقامة في قصره بمنطقة زعبيل، وعمل منذ توليه الحكم لتثبيت مركز دبي التجاري، لاسيما أن عوائد البترول حينها كانت لا تفي بالتزامات الإمارة، فاهتم بالأسواق ودعم التجار وشجّع الاستثمار التجاري في الإمارة وخطّط لآفاق بعيدة ورؤى مستقبلية لمدينة دبي، واهتم أيضاً بإنشاء الدوائر التي تقدّم خدماتها للسكان وتساهم في تطوير الإمارة كالبلدية والأراضي، والشرطة والجمارك، والمحاكم والكهرباء والمياه، وغيرها من الدوائر.
كان راشد بن سعيد رجلاً سياسيًّا، وله علاقات أخوية طيبة مع جميع حكام منطقة الخليج العربي، وضع حجر الأساس الحقيقي لمدينة دبي الحديثة، واهتم بالعمران والتجارة، واستطاع استغلال كل الإمكانيات لمصلحة بلاده؛ إذ إنه استغلّ النفط في دبي استغلالاً تجاريًّا عام 1966م، فأنشأ الشيخ راشد دائرة خاصة بشؤون النفط، ودائرة للطيران والقضاء، وبدأت التحولات الحقيقية في حياة دبي، فعمل لتوسيع خور دبي وتعميقه؛ لأن ضحالة مياه الخور كانت تهدد الملاحة فيه وتُصعّب على السفن التجارية الكبيرة دخول الخور بسبب قرب رمال الخور من سطح المياه، وتم مشروع التعميق، وأصبح خور دبي من أفضل الموانئ التجارية والاقتصادية.
شهدت دبي طفرة تنموية شملت إنشاء الطرق والمطار والموانئ، ففي أكتوبر عام 1972م افتُتِح ميناء راشد البحري، وكان هذا الميناء الضخم داعماً اقتصاديًّا قويًّا لإمارة دبي خاصة والإمارات عامة، وكان الشيخ راشد يشجع التجارة والتجار ويطمح لزيادة الموارد وتشجيع الخطوط العالمية للمرور بها، فأصبحت مركزاً تجاريًّا بين الشرق والغرب.
أدّت دبي بقيادة الشيخ راشد بن سعيد ذي العقل والحكمة دوراً كبيراً في مهمة اتحاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، واتفقت رؤيته مع رؤية الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان بضرورة قيام اتحاد يجمع سبع إمارات من إمارات ساحل الخليج العربي، وأسفرت هذه الجهود بينهما عن توقيع اتفاقية السميح المشهورة في فبراير عام 1968م باتحاد الإمارتين، هذا الاتحاد الذي أكملاه باتحاد الإمارات السبع في الـ 2 من ديسمبر 1971م. 
انتقل المغفور له إلى رحمة الله في السابع من أكتوبر عام 1990م بعد فترة حكم مليئة بالإنجازات التي حولت دبي من منطقة بسيطة إلى منطقة تجارية مهمة.