Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi

Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi














•    Full Name: Rashid Bin Humaid Bin Abdul Aziz Bin Humaid Bin Rashid Al Nuaimi
•    Duration of his Rule: 53 years


H.H. Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi was born in the late 1800s in the peaceful Emirate of Ajman, which had signed the General Treaty of Peace with Britain in 1820. Sheikh Rashid was the only child of his father who raised him and taught him the traditions and customs of the Arabs. At his father’s majlis, he heard the news of the tribes and the Emirate, the desert stories and trade adventures. He learned the Holy Quran and the teachings of Islam and Sunnah at the hands of religious teachers. Life was hard and harsh and the political scene was changing.  Wars broke out at times and reconciliation at other times. Such circumstances helped him to face whatever hardships life threw at him.
Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid assumed power in the Emirate of Ajman in 1928, which had full allegiance to its ruler. During his rule, the Emirate enjoyed security and stability, and began its journey towards development despite its scarce resources. Moreover, Ajman entered the modern age. He was the first ruler in the Emirates to issue passports. He was known for his keen interest in reforms and his staunch defense of the true religion. He was simple and kind to everyone inside and outside the Emirates. He supported Arab and Islamic causes. In a statement that reflected his attitude towards Arab issues that called for swift response, he said: “He who condones injustice, chickens out or dithers when faced with death is by no means an Arab”. He collaborated with the Arab League and approved its allocated economic development projects to revive the Emirates on the Arab Gulf Coast. Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid was fond of the Islamic culture. Consequently, he established the Islamic Scientific Institute that teaches basic sharia and other civil disciplines.
He established departments to provide various services to the public. He first founded the Municipality Department, which was tasked with serving citizens, building roads and markets and supervising urban and development projects in Ajman. He focused his attention on the formal education, believing that education was the pillar of progress. Formal schools for boys and girls were built everywhere in the Emirate. In addition, he built hospitals and offered free treatment. He supplied every household with drinking water and electricity. In 1967, he established the Police Department to maintain law and order, and provided social services to his compatriots. 
Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi played an effective role in proclaiming the UAE federation. He worked with Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan and his fellow Rulers of the Emirates to lay the foundations for the union. He sought to build a strong unified state. On this score, he said: “Our absolute loyalty to our homeland and to our ancestors’ heritage made it incumbent on us to take this unionist stand and to recognize our historical responsibility to continue the march of the union.
Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid passed away on Sunday, September 6, 1981 after a long battle with illness. On that day, Ajman and the UAE lost a great leader who led a life marked by struggle, persistence and success. He left his unmistakable mark by his incessant efforts to develop his Emirate and his people. All people expressed their sorrow and delegations from the Arab and Islamic countries came to extend their condolences on the loss of the UAE. His son Sheikh Humaid Bin Rashid Al Nuaimi succeeded him and followed in his father’s footsteps to continue the development of Ajman.

الشيخ راشد بن حميد النعيمي رحمه الله

Sheikh Rashid Bin Humaid Al Nuaimi














•    الاسم الكامل: راشد بن حميد بن عبد العزيز بن حميد بن راشد النعيمي

•    مدة الحكم: 53 سنة


ولد صاحب السمو الشيخ راشد بن حميد النعيمي في أواخر القرن التاسع عشر بإمارة عجمان الهادئة التي كانت حينها قد وقّعت على معاهدة السلام العام مع بريطانيا سنة 1820م، كان الشيخ راشد وحيد والديه، ترعرع في كنف والده وتعلّم منه عادات وتقاليد العرب، واستقى من مجلسه أخبار القبائل والإمارة وقصص الصحراء ومغامرات التجارة، وتعلّم القرآن وتعاليم الكتاب والسنة النبوية الشريفة على يد شيوخ الدين، كانت الحياة صعبة والطبيعة قاسية، والأمور السياسية في حالة متغيرة؛ أحياناً في حالة حرب وأحياناً أخرى في فترة صلح، فهيّأته هذه الظروف لمواجهة مصاعب الحياة.
تولّى الشيخ راشد بن حميد حكم إمارة عجمان عام 1928م، وكانت الإمارة مطلقة الولاء لحاكمها، عرفت عجمان في عهده الاستقرار الأمني، وبدأت طريقها إلى التنمية في ظل الإمكانيات القليلة، وبدأت عجمان في عهده تاريخها المعاصر، كان أول حاكم في الإمارات يصدر جوازات سفر خاصة به، عُرف بحبه للإصلاح وغيرته على الدين، كان إنساناً بسيطاً متعاوناً مع الجميع محليًّا وخارجيًّا، مناصراً للقضايا العربية والإسلامية. اشتهرت مقولته التي وضّحت موقفه من القضايا العربية التي تتطلب الرد السريع جاء في بيان قائلاً: (ليس عربيًّا من يصبر على الضيم، وليس عربيًّا من يجبن أو يتردد إذا دعا داعي الموت)، تعاون مع جامعة الدول العربية ووافق على مشاريع التنمية الاقتصادية التي خصصتها الجامعة للنهوض بإمارات ساحل الخليج العربي، اهتم الشيخ راشد بن حميد بالثقافة الإسلامية وأنشأ "المعهد العلمي الإسلامي" الذي كان يدرّس العلوم الشرعية الأساسية والعلوم المدنية الأخرى.
أسس الدوائر لتقديم الخدمات المختلفة للناس، فبدأ بإنشاء دائرة البلدية التي من مهامها: خدمة المواطنين وشق الطرق، وإنشاء الأسواق والإشراف على المشاريع الإنمائية والعمرانية في عجمان، وأعطى التعليم النظامي جل اهتمامه؛ إيماناً منه أن العلم هو أساس التطور والتقدم، وبدأت المدارس النظامية للبنين والبنات في الانتشار بالإمارة، وبنى المستشفيات وجعل العلاج بها مجاناً، وسهّل على المواطنين توصيل المياه النقية لبيوتهم عبر خطوط الأنابيب وأدخل الكهرباء، وأسس عام 1967م دائرة الشرطة؛ لحفظ الأمن وتقديم الخدمات الاجتماعية للمواطنين.
كان للشيخ راشد بن حميد النعيمي دور فعال في إعلان اتحاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وعمل مع صاحب السمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان وإخوانه حكام الإمارات من أجل وضع أسس الاتحاد، وسعى لإقامة دولة متحدة قوية، وقال في هذا السياق: (وفاؤنا المطلق لأرض الوطن وتراث الآباء والأجداد يفرض علينا هذا الموقف الاتحادي وإدراك المسؤولية التاريخية لمواصلة مسيرة الاتحاد).
توفي الشيخ راشد بن حميد – رحمه الله – يوم الأحد الموافق 6 سبتمبر1981م بعد معاناة طويلة مع المرض، وفقدت عجمان ودولة الإمارات في هذا اليوم شخصاً طيب الأثر، حياته مليئة بالكفاح والإصرار والنجاح، تاركاً بصمة واضحة لكل جهوده في سبيل تطوير وتقدم إمارته وشعبه، وقد رثاه الجميع وجاءت الوفود العربية والإسلامية لتشارك العزاء في فقيد الإمارات، وانتقل الحكم من بعده إلى ولي عهده ابنه الشيخ حميد بن راشد النعيمي الذي سار على نهج والده مكملاً راية التقدم لإمارة عجمان.