Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed Bin Salem Bin Sultan Al Qasimi

Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed Bin Salem Bin Sultan Al Qasimi














•    1920-2010
•    Full Name: Saqr Bin Mohammed Bin Salem Bin Sultan Bin Saqr Bin Rashid Bin Rahma Bin Matar Bin Kayed Al Qasimi
•    Duration of his Rule: 62 years


The late Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed was born in the city of Ras Al Khaimah in 1920 and was raised by his father Sheikh Mohammed Bin Salem Al Qasimi. He learned from his father about the glorious past of the Qawasem and was impressed by their heroic history. He was taught by a lady Mutawa “religious instructor” named Fatima, and he learned verses of Quran and hadith at a very early age. He was religious and learnt reading and writing and his upbringing was of an Arab and Islamic nature. He was interested in teaching his children the values and tenets of Islam. He was famous for his intelligence, composure and adherence to the true Arab customs and traditions. He was immensely proud of his ancestors who built the largest Arab maritime force in the region, and was well known for his loyalty to the Arab nation and for his support for the causes of peace and goodwill.
He took up the reins of government in July 17, 1948 after the abdication of his uncle Sheikh Sultan Bin Salem. Since that date, he worked hard to lay down the foundations of national unity among the tribes of his region and managed to bring them together. He sought to develop his Emirate economically, socially and culturally. He was close to his citizens and shared with them their daily life, their gatherings and celebrations. He was keen on developing his Emirate, especially as far as education and literacy are concerned, because he believed in the role of education in building men and women, as well as the society and in shaping the cultural awareness of nations. Thus, he promoted education, built modern schools, and made education compulsory for girls and boys alike. He offered material and moral incentives to students and their parents. He established the Department of Education to follow up scholarship programs in the Emirate. The Late Sheikh Saqr was also interested in providing comprehensive healthcare to Ras Al Khaimah citizens. Hence, he opened the Kuwaiti Hospital. In fact, during his reign three modern hospitals were opened. 
He was involved in establishing the Union together with his fellow Rulers of the other Emirates. Thus on February 10, 1972, H.H. announced the accession of Ras Al Khaimah to the United Arab Emirates. Consequently, a unified and strong political entity has come into existence, a state that is able to face up to the region’s challenges and forge a strong bond amongst all the Emiratis.
H.H. Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi declared on that day: “As we are building a Union in this part of our great Arab World, it would only be a brick in the edifice of the Arab Nation that extends from the Atlantic Ocean to the Arabian Gulf”.
Development and construction projects in Ras Al Khaimah kicked off with the laying of the basis of a proper government administration and building the organizational, financial and administrative institutions, in addition to governmental departments and agencies that oversee the implementation of such development projects. The urban and economic renaissance continued under H.H.’s directives and supervision. In 1976, Ras Al Khaimah Airport was inaugurated and in 1977, Saqr Port was opened. Ras Al Khaimah witnessed great achievements in a few years during his reign and saw quantum leaps towards progress and prosperity.
Modern plans based on contemporary principles were devised to establish several vital facilities in the Emirate. Ras Al Khaimah made great achievements by building all vital facilities. During his reign, the Emirate attracted many successful industries that helped achieve further progress including the cement, pharmaceutical, ceramics and steel industries.
Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohamed Al Qasimi passed away on February 27, 2010. He was the last to pass away of the founding fathers of the UAE, which was established in 1971. His son Sheikh Saud Bin Saqr succeeded him and continued his father’s journey of giving and caring.

الشيخ صقر بن محمد بن سالم بن سلطان القاسمي رحمه الله

Sheikh Saqr Bin Mohammed Bin Salem Bin Sultan Al Qasimi














•    1920-2010م
•    الاسم الكامل: صقر بن محمد بن سالم بن سلطان بن صقر بن راشد بن رحمة بن مطر بن كايد القاسمي
•    مدة الحكم: 62 سنة


ولد الشيخ صقر بن محمد رحمه الله في مدينة رأس الخيمة عام 1920م، نشأ في كنف والده الشيخ محمد بن سالم القاسمي، واستقى من والده تاريخ القواسم المجيد فتأثر بتاريخهم البطولي. تتلمذ على يد مطوعة اسمها فاطمة، وحفظ من صغره كثيراً من آيات القرآن والأحاديث النبوية الشريفة، وعُرف عنه ارتباطه بالدين، فضلاً عن حبه لتعليم أبنائه أخلاق وتعاليم الدين الإسلامي وحرصه على ذلك، وتعلم أيضاً القراءة والكتابة ونشأ نشأة عربية إسلامية. عُرف بذكائه وهدوئه وتمسكه بالعادات والتقاليد العربية الأصيلة. كان يعتز كثيراً بتاريخ أجداده الذين بنوا أكبر قوة بحرية عربية في المنطقة، وعُرف عنه ولاؤه لأمته العربية ونصرته قضايا الحق والسلام.
تولى الحكم في الـ 17 من يوليو عام 1948م، بعد تنازل عمه الشيخ سلطان بن سالم عن الحكم، فعمل منذ ذلك التاريخ لإرساء قواعد الوحدة الوطنية بين قبائل منطقته، واستطاع التأليف بينهم وجمعهم، عمل على تطوير إمارته اقتصاديًّا واجتماعيًّا وحضاريًّا، كان قريباً من المواطنين، ويشارك الناس حياتهم اليومية ومجالسهم وأفراحهم، اهتم كثيراً بتطوير إمارته، لاسيما في مجال التعليم ومحو الأمية؛ لإيمانه بدور التعليم في بناء الإنسان والمجتمع وتكوين الوعي الحضاري للدول، فقام بنشر التعليم، وأنشأ المدارس النظامية، وجعل التعليم إجباريًّا على البنات كما هو للأولاد، ووضع حوافز مادية ومعنوية للطلاب وأولياء أمورهم، وأنشأ دائرة للمعارف لمتابعة شؤون البعثات العلمية في الإمارة، واهتم أيضاً رحمه الله بتوفير رعاية صحية شاملة لأبناء رأس الخيمة فافتتح المستشفى الكويتي، وفي عهده أنشئت ثلاثة مستشفيات عصرية في الإمارة.
ساهم مع إخوانه حكام الإمارات في تكوين دولة الاتحاد؛ ففي الـ 10 من فبراير عام 1972م أعلن سموه انضمام إمارته إلى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، فاكتمل بذلك كيان سياسي موحد وقوي، مواجه لتحديات المنطقة، ومترجم لعملية تعزيز أواصر القربى وصلات الرحم بين أبناء الإمارات جميعاً. 
وصرّح المغفور له الشيخ صقر بن محمد القاسمي يومها بقوله: "إننا وإن كنا نبني اتحاداً في هذا الجزء من وطننا العربي الكبير فإنما ذلك لا يعدو أن يكون لبنة في صرح بناء الوطن العربي من المحيط إلى الخليج".
انطلقت عمليات التطوير والبناء في رأس الخيمة بإرساء قواعد الإدارة الحكومية السليمة وبناء المؤسسات التنظيمية والمالية والإدارية والمرافق والدوائر الحكومية التي تتولى الإشراف على تنفيذ مشاريع التنمية، وقد توالت نهضة رأس الخيمة العمرانية والاقتصادية بتوجيه سموه وإشرافه؛ ففي عام 1976 افتتح مطار رأس الخيمة الدولي، وفي 1977 افتتح ميناء صقر، وحققت إمارة رأس الخيمة في سنوات قلائل في عهده إنجازات كبيرة، وشهدت تحولات جذرية على طريق التقدم والازدهار، انطلقت من وضع خطط حديثة لتطوير المدينة على أسس عصرية بإقامة العديد من المرافق الحيوية بالإمارة، وحققت إمارة رأس الخيمة إنجازات حضارية شاملة في جميع الميادين، وجذبت الإمارة في عصره العديد من الصناعات الناجحة التي أسهمت في دفع عجلة التقدم ومنها صناعة الأسمنت والأدوية والسيراميك والحديد.
توفي الشيخ صقر بن محمد القاسمي في الـ 27 من فبراير عام 2010، وبوفاته يكون قد رحل آخر مؤسسي دولة الاتحاد التي قامت عام 1971م، وتولى الحكم من بعده ابنه الشيخ سعود بن صقر ليواصل مسيرة العطاء من بعد والده.