Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan

Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan














[1918-2004]

    His Birth and Upbringing:

  1. Sheikh Zayed was born in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi in 1918 at Qasr al-Hosn to Sheikh Sultan Bin Zayed, the Ruler of Abu Dhabi from 1922-1926. He was the youngest of Sheikh Sultan's four sons and was named after his famous grandfather, known as ‘Zayed the Great’, the Ruler of the Emirate from 1885-1909.
    Sheikh Zayed had a strong passion for anything with which a trueborn Arab is identified such as falconry, riding Arabian thoroughbred camel and horses and mastering archery. His character was shaped in his early youth, while living in the city of Al Ain. Its calm and vast expanses were instrumental in developing his leadership qualities

  2. As the Ruler's Representative in the Eastern Region:

  3. In 1946, Sheikh Zayed was appointed as representative of his brother, Sheikh Shakhbut Bin Sultan al-Nahyan, in the Eastern Region. During his twenty years as his brother's representative, Sheikh Zayed gained a reputation as a natural born leader who ruled by example. Sheikh Zayed became not only a well-known, but also a popular and respected leader who was eager to listen to all his subjects and whose decisions were based on the consensus of the various tribes in the region. He frequently travelled to even the remotest parts of the region in order to consult with people regarding their needs. He kept an open majlis, maintained close ties with his people and personally oversaw the implementation of reforms. He was the paragon of generosity and hospitality.
    Sir Wilfred Thesiger, the famous British traveler who documented his famous trips across the Empty Quarter, noted in his book ‘Arabian Sands' that Sheikh Zayed was “a strongly-built man, with a brown beard. He was shrewd and sharp-witted, and his manner was quiet but masterful”.  Thesiger remarked that Sheikh Zayed was a man whom he looked forward to meeting as “He had a great reputation among the Bedouins. They liked him for his easy, informal ways and his friendliness, and they respected his strong character, his shrewdness and his physical strength. They said admiringly ‘Zayed is a Bedouin. He knows a lot about camels, can ride them like us, is a sharpshooter and a skillful fight'.”
    The traveler described the young Sheikh Zayed's governing style by saying “Zayed as the leader of a large family is always willing to listen to people's problems and then to find the right solution, settling disputes to the satisfaction of all, in a manner characterized by intelligence, wisdom and justice.”
    The former British Captain of the Trucial Oman Scouts, Anthony Shepherd, recounts in his book ‘Arabian Adventure' his impressions of his meeting with Sheikh Zayed stating “He was a man who commanded the respect, admiration and loyalty of the Bedouins living in the deserts around Buraimi. He was the most commanding figure in the Trucial States”.
    After visiting Sheikh Zayed in al Ain, Colonel Hugh Boustead, the British Political Agent in Abu Dhabi, wrote: “I was always astonished at the sheer size of the crowd who gathered around him whenever he toured Buraimi, and who treated him with the sort of reverence and attention due to a minor saint. He invariably had a kind word for everybody, and was most generous with his money. I was immediately struck by all that had been done in Al ‘Ain, his hometown, and in the Buraimi area, for the benefit of the people. Water ducts had been dug out to increase the water supply to the gardens, water wells were sunk and pumps were supplied and modern baths for men and women had been built in the falajs. Everyone who visited Al Ain noticed the happiness of the people in the area”.
    The British scholar, Clarence Mann, visited the Eastern Region and attended Sheikh Zayed's majlis. In his book ‘Abu Dhabi: Birth of an Oil Sheikhdom' he noted that “The choice of Sheikh Zayed as a successor to his brother was logical and predictable, and perhaps in the best interests of the Sheikhdom. Next to Sheikh Shakhbut he has always been the most influential person in the Sheikhdom. He controlled directly all villages in the area, with the exception of those under the control of Muscat, and his influence stretched throughout al-Dharfah. He is highly respected by the Bedouins because he knows and practices their ways and traditions, He used whatever little money he had to introduce reforms in Buraimi. Thanks to him, the Bedouins pledged allegiance to Abu Dhabi. His fairness, reformist attitude and exceptional political skills made him the natural leader of Abu Dhabi ”

  4. Ruler of Abu Dhabi:

  5. The discovery of oil in the late 1950s transformed the economic landscape of the Abu Dhabi as it ushered the beginning of its development. In 1962, as the Emirate began exporting oil, it was immediately apparent that an innovative vision of governance was needed to address the new challenges and to optimize the utilization of oil revenues. The al-Nahyan family unanimously elected Sheikh Zayed as the new Ruler of the Emirate on August 6, 1966. Thus a new phase of the history of Abu Dhabi started.
    Sheikh Zayed carried out major reforms, such as modern education, healthcare, public housing, and general urban development. He drew up a plan for a major development and encouraged his people to participate wholeheartedly in the process, bringing in foreign expertise as appropriate. A few days after assuming office, the establishment of a modern formal government with its ministries and departments was announced and the new government was entrusted with the task of conducting the affairs of the state.
    Sheikh Zayed’s priorities included building new roads, construction of a bridge to link Abu Dhabi Island to the mainland and the establishment of schools, houses, medical services, a seaport and an airport. Thus, Abu Dhabi was transformed beyond recognition, as it became a huge construction site with the noise of machines and equipment everywhere. Thousands of local people moved from barasti (palm frond) houses into modern homes. Modern roads were built over the desert sand and fresh water supply and electricity were connected to every house. Education shifted from the religious system of ‘Mutawiah' to a modern educational system and literacy classes were held for those who had not previously benefitted from education. The desert Bedouins began to receive medical services from clinics for the first time. His development venture succeeded in eradicating ages of backwardness.

  6. Zayed: UAE President

  7. In 1968, when Britain announced its intention to withdraw its bases from East of Suez, it became imperative for the Emirates to take some steps to change the course of history in the region; especially that the Arabian Gulf region was vulnerable to occupation by expansionist powers. Sheikh Zayed and Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum, Ruler of Dubai at that time, undertook an initiative that had a great impact on subsequent events. On February 18, 1968, they signed Al Samih agreement, which resulted in major changes that set the stage for the discussions of the Union of the Nine that took place among the seven Emirates and their sister states Bahrain and Qatar later on. Finally, this led to the unification of the Emirates under the name the “United Arab Emirates” after both Bahrain and Qatar announced their independence.
    The UAE was founded on December 2, 1971, and Sheikh Zayed was unanimously elected by the rulers of the Emirates as the first president of the new state for five years. The Supreme Council of the Union expressed their confidence in Sheikh Zayed by re-electing him several times. Sheikh Zayed was the president, the builder and the caring father of the nation. Sheikh Rashid Bin Saeed Al Maktoum was elected vice-president.
    Sheikh Zayed followed up the affairs of his newly born developing state and spent the oil revenues on various sectors in the UAE, especially those in need of development. He  looked after the economy, education, heritage and culture. Thanks to Sheikh Zayed’s acumen and broad-mindedness, the UAE acquired good reputation among Arab and foreign countries. The security and stability of the UAE strengthened such a reputation further.
    The Rulers of the Emirates who are the members of the Federal Supreme Council, agreed on drawing up a provisional federal constitution for an effective governance that defines the authorities of the federal institutions in a state adopting modern management methods and seeking at the same time to maintain the traditional form of direct democracy.

  8. The GCC: a Greater ambition

  9. Having a deep inner conviction in the benefits of closer cooperation not only among the seven emirates of the UAE, but also among all Gulf States, Sheikh Zayed was a leading force in the foundation of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC). His vision was translated into action by bringing together the Gulf countries, which shared not only similar economies, but also a history based on common tribal social structures. On the basis of such common grounds, Sheikh Zayed aimed at, and succeeded in establishing a formal regional and political entity. The GCC charter was signed by the heads of its member states consisting of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates in their first summit that was held in Abu Dhabi on May 25, 1981.
  10. Developing Industrial Sectors and Infrastructure

  11. From the start, Sheikh Zayed's vision involved the development of the industrial sector of the newly formed UAE, recognizing that oil was a non-renewable resource. His primary focus was on developing the manufacturing sector of his country, as a result of which the UAE enjoyed a boom, especially in the Seventies of the last century.
    The development of the country's infrastructure was another pressing issue for Sheikh Zayed. From the very start of his rule, road construction, telephone lines and the establishment of national media were recognized as vital to link up the seven Emirates with each another. The new roads, international airports and seaports quickly enabled the UAE to play a prominent role in the modern industrial world and to take its well-deserved place among the world's most highly developed industrial nations.
    The 19th of Ramadan 1425 A.H., correspondent to November 2nd, 2004 A.D. is sadly an unforgettable date as the United Arab Emirates lost its Leader, the Founder of its Federation after a long march of giving that lasted for four decades. The old and the young mourned his death, which shocked all UAE people.
    Arab and foreign countries mourned the death of Sheik Zayed, and people all over the world expressed their sadness for his loss. World leaders issued sad obituaries filled with expressions of sorrow for a loss of a man who is respected and appreciated by the whole world, and whose accomplishments are numerous.
    The UAE people found solace in Zayed’s sons who grew up by his side, absorbing his knowledge as he is the greatest tutor in leadership and fair governance. Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed was the worthy successor to the best predecessor as he assumed power with the consent and blessings of all UAE Sheikhs and people.

الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان طيَّب الله ثراه

Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan

















[1918-2004م]

    مولده ونشأته:


  1. ولد الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان في قصر الحصن بمدينة أبوظبي عام 1918. والده الشيخ سلطان بن زايد كان حاكماً لإمارة أبوظبي من (1922-1926م). وكان الشيخ زايد الابن الأصغر من بين أربعة أشقاء، وسُمِّي باسم جدِّه زايد بن خليفة المعروف بـ "زايد الأول" الذي حكم الإمارة من (1885-1909م).
    أظهر شغفاً متزايداً بكل ما يمتّ إلى العربي الأصيل، كالصيد بالصقور، وركوب الهجن العربية الأصيلة والخيل، وإتقان الرماية. وتشكَّلت شخصيته في فجر شبابه عندما كان في مدينة العين، واستمد الكثير من صفائها ورحابتها. واكتسب صفات الزعامة والقيادة السياسية التي اتسمت بها شخصيته الفذة.

  2. زايد ممثلاً للحاكم في المنطقة الشرقية:

  3. عُين الشيخ زايد عام 1946 ممثلاً لشقيقه الشيخ شخبوط بن سلطان آل نهيان حاكم إمارة أبوظبي في المنطقة الشرقية، وامتدت فترة ولايته فيها عشرين عاماً. واشتهر بشخصيته القيادية بين سكان المنطقة، وحظي بسمعة طيبة، وكان نموذجاً يُحتذى به في إدارة الحكم. وتمثَّلت مبادئ القيادة لديه في بناء الروابط القوية بينه وبين أفراد شعبه، والمحافظة على تلك الروابط. وكان يحرص على الإشراف بنفسه على تنفيذ الإصلاحات، وكان مجلسه مفتوحاً للجميع.
    كان الشيخ زايد يتخذ قراراته بموافقة القبائل المختلفة وإجماعها، ويسافر إلى جميع المناطق القريبة والنائية؛ للاطمئنان على الناس، وتفقد أحوالهم، والسؤال عن حاجاتهم، ومشاورتهم، والاستماع إليهم قبل اتخاذ أي قرار، حتى ذاع صيته، وحظي بحب الشعب واحترامه، وكأنه فرد منه.
    سجّل ولفرد ثيسيجر الرحالة البريطاني الشهير الذي قطع صحراء الربع الخالي ووثّق رحلته الشهيرة تلك في كتابه "الرمال العربية" - بعض الانطباعات في كتابه عن لقائه الشيخ زايداً فقال: "إن زايداً رجل قوي البنية، لحيته بنية اللون، ووجهه ينمُّ عن ذكاء حادّ، وعيناه ثاقبتان قويتا الملاحظة، وهو يتميز بسلوك هادئ وشخصية قوية"، ويضيف: "لقد كنت متشوقاً للقاء زايد؛ فله شهرة واسعة في أوساط البدو الذين أحبوه لسلاسة أسلوبه غير الرسمي في معاملته لهم، ولعلاقاته الودية معهم، واحترموا فيه نفاذ شخصيته وذكاءه وقوته البدنية، وكانوا يعبرون عن إعجابهم به فيقولون: زايد بدوي مثلنا؛ فهو يعرف الكثير عن الهجن، ويركبها مثلنا، وهو ماهر في الرماية، ويجيد القتال".
    وصف الرحالة أسلوب زايد في إدارة دفة الحكم فقال: "زايد رب أسرة كبيرة، يجلس دائماً للإنصات لمشاكل الناس ويحلها؛ فيخرج المتخاصمون من عنده بهدوء، وكلهم رضى عن أحكامه التي تتميز بالذكاء والحكمة والعدل".
    أما النقيب البريطاني السابق في قوة ساحل عمان أنطوني شيبرد فقد نشر كتاباً أسماه "مغامرة في الجزيرة العربية" سجل فيه انطباعاته بعد لقاء الشيخ زايد، فقال: "كان زايد رجلاً يحظى بإعجاب وولاء البدو الذين يعيشون في الصحراء المحيطة بواحة البريمي، وكان بلا شك أقوى شخصية في الإمارات المتصالحة".
    وكتب الممثل السياسي البريطاني في أبوظبي العقيد هيو بوستيد بعد زيارة له إلى العين: " تدهشني الجموع التي تحتشد دوماً حوله في البريمي، وتحيطه باحترام واهتمام"، كان لطيف الكلام دائماً مع الجميع، وكان سخيًّا جدًّا بماله، ودهشت على الفور من كل ما عمله في بلدته العين وفي المنطقة لمنفعة الشعب؛ فقد شق الترع لزيادة المياه لري البساتين، وحفر الآبار، وشيد الحمامات الحديثة في الأفلاج. إن من يزور العين يلاحظ سعادة أهل المنطقة".
    زار الباحث البريطاني كلارنس مان المنطقة الشرقية، وحضر مجالس الشيخ زايد، وألفّ كتاباً عن إمارة أبوظبي بعنوان "أبوظبي: ولادة مشيخة نفطية"، تنبأ فيه عام ١٩٦٤ بأن يكون الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان هو الحاكم القادم للإمارة؛ إذ قال: "إن الشيخ زايد بن سلطان هو الرجل القوي في منطقة العين وضواحيها، ومن هنا امتد نفوذه إلى بقاع الظفرة، وهو يلقى احترام رجال البدو، وقد كرَّس المال القليل الذي توفّر لديه للقيام بإصلاحات في منطقة البريمي، ويرجع إليه فضل بسط نفوذ أبوظبي على البادية، فضلاً عن عدالته، وروحه الإصلاحية، وقدراته السياسية الفائقة، بأن يكون رجل البلاد المنتظر في إمارة أبوظبي.

  4. زايد حاكماً لإمارة أبوظبي:

  5. مع اكتشاف النفط في إمارة أبوظبي في أواخر خمسينيات القرن العشرين بدأ عصر جديد من التطور في منطقة الخليج العربي قلَبَ المشهد الاقتصادي برمته، وعندما صَدَّرت أبوظبي أول شحنة نفط عام 1962 باتت الأمور جليّة والتحديات واضحة للمرحلة الجديدة من تاريخ أبوظبي على جميع الصُّعُد: الاقتصادية، والاجتماعية، والثقافية. وكانت السياسية أبرزها، إذ كان البلد في أمسِّ الحاجة إلى رؤية جديدة للحكم لتتصدى لتلك التحديات، وتخطط تخطيطاً ناجحاً لاستغلال أمثل لعوائد النفط، فجاء اختيار عائلة آل نهيان للشيخ زايد ليكون حاكماً لإمارة أبوظبي في 6 أغسطس 1966 مواكباً تلك المرحلة الجديدة من تاريخ أبوظبي.
    بدأ الشيخ زايد بتحقيق إصلاحات واسعة في البلاد، فشرع يطور التعليم والصحة، ويخطط لتطوير المدن وقضايا الإسكان لأفراد الشعب، ووضع برنامجاً ضخماً لعملية الإنماء، وبدأ يدفع أبناء شعبه إلى المشاركة بكل طاقاتهم في هذه العملية، ودعا الكفاءات الأجنبية لدعم هذه المسيرة بالخبرات. ولم تمضِ أيام على تسلمه مقاليد الحكم حتى أعلن إقامة حكومة رسمية حديثة بالإدارات والدوائر، وأوكل عليها المهام اللازمة لتسيير أمور الدولة.
    كان من ضمن أولوياته: شقّ الطرقات، وبناء جسر يربط جزيرة أبوظبي باليابسة، وإقامة المدارس والمساكن والخدمات الطبية، وإنشاء ميناء ومطار. وتغير وجه أبوظبي؛ فغدت ورشة عمل في كل اتجاه، وأصبح صوت الآلات في كل حدب وصوب، وانتقل آلاف السكان من سكن "العشيش" إلى المنازل الحديثة، وامتدت الطرق الحديثة فوق رمال الصحراء، ودخلت المياه العذبة والكهرباء إلى كل بيت، وانتقل التعليم من نظام "المطاوعة" إلى النظام الحديث في التعليم، وانتشرت المدارس على اختلاف مراحلها في كل بقعة من البلاد، وفتحت عشرات الفصول الجديدة لنظام محو أمية لمن فاتهم قطار التعليم، وبدأت العيادات تقديم خدماتها الطبية للبدو في الصحراء بعد أن حرموا الرعاية الصحية طويلاً، ونجحت المسيرة في تعويض قرون من التخلف والجمود.

  6. زايد رئيساً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة:

  7. عندما أعلنت بريطانيا عام 1968 نيتها سحب قواعدها من شرق السويس، أصبح لزاماً على الإمارات أن تخطو خطوة تغير بها وجه التاريخ بالمنطقة، ولاسيما أن منطقة الخليج العربي تُعَدّ لقمة سائغة للطامعين. قام الشيخ زايد مع أخيه الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم حاكم دبي آنذاك ببادرة كان لها عظيم الأثر فيما جاء بعدها من أحداث؛ فكانت اتفاقية السميح التي وقّعا عليها في الـ 18 من فبراير عام 1968، التي فتحت الباب لخطوات كبيرة تلتها؛ فَجَرتْ مباحثات الاتحاد التساعي بين الإمارات السبع وبين شقيقتيها: البحرين، وقطر، وآلت الأمور في النهاية إلى قيام اتحاد الإمارات باسم "دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة" بعد أن أعلنت البحرين وقطر استقلالهما.
    قام اتحاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في الثاني من ديسمبر عام 1971، وانتخب الشيخ زايد بإجماع حكام الإمارات أول رئيس للدولة الفتية لمدة خمس سنوات، وجَدَّد له المجلس الأعلى ثقته فيه بانتخابه عدة مرات، فكان هو الرئيس، وهو الباني، وهو الوالد الحاني على أبناء أمته، وانتخب الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم نائباً له.
    أخذ الشيخ زايد يتابع شؤون دولته الوليدة الآخذة في النمو، ووزّع عوائد الثروة النفطية على جميع القطاعات بالدولة، ولاسيما التي كانت بحاجة إلى التطوير. واهتم بالاقتصاد والتعليم، والتراث والثقافة، وحافظ على سمعة دولته بين أخواتها العربيات وبين دول العالم بفضل نظرته المستقبلية وأفقه الواسع، بل زادت سمعة الدولة بفضل الأمن والاستقرار اللذين حظيت بهما.
    واتفق حكام الإمارات أعضاء المجلس الأعلى على وضع دستور اتحادي مؤقت من أجل حكم فعّال ونظام تُحدّد فيه سلطات المؤسسات الاتحادية في دولة تأخذ بأساليب الإدارة الحديثة، وتسعى في الوقت نفسه إلى المحافظة على الشكل التقليدي الذي يتصف بصفة الديمقراطية المباشرة.

  8. مجلس التعاون الخليجي وطموح أكبر:

  9. طالما تمثّلت رؤية الشيخ زايد في توحيد جميع دول الخليج، التي تجمعها عوامل مشتركة؛ كالتاريخ والعادات، والتقاليد والاقتصاد، والتقارب الأسري الذي يجمع بين شعوب المنطقة؛ إذ كانت لديه - رحمه الله - قناعة عميقة بفوائد الاتحاد الجمة للإمارات السبع، وجميع دول الخليج أيضاً، وأسفرت رؤيته ورؤية إخوانه في دول الخليج العربية الست عن تكوين تجمع إقليمي وسياسي رسمي؛ إذ وقّع رؤساء هذه الدول: (البحرين والكويت، وعُمان وقطر، والسعودية والإمارات) وثيقة تأسيس مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية بتاريخ 25 مايو1981 في قمتهم الأولى بأبوظبي.

  10. الشيخ زايد وتطوير القطاع الصناعي والبنى التحتيـة:

  11. أدرك الشيخ زايد – طيب الله ثراه-أن النفط مصدر محدود وناضب؛ فغدت لديه رؤية واضحة في تطوير القطاع الصناعي بدولة الإمارات، وتركّز اهتمامه في تطوير قطاع التصنيع، الذي شهد نهضة كبيرة في عهده، ولاسيما في سبعينيات القرن الماضي.
    كان من أهم أولويات الشيخ زايد تطوير البنية التحتية للدولة؛ فأدرك منذ بدايات سني حكمه أهمية إنشاء الطرق الحديثة، ومدّ خطوط الهاتف، وتأسيس إعلام وطني لربط جميع الإمارات السبع، وبالفعل أثبتت الأيام بعد نظرته وسعة أفقه، فكانت الطرق الجديدة، والمطارات الدولية، والموانئ البحرية، وشبكات الخطوط الهاتفية المتطورة التي أبرزت دولة الإمارات ودورها المهم في العالم الصناعي الحديث، واحتلالها مكانة مرموقة بين أكثر دول العالم الصناعية تقدماً.
    19 رمضان 1425هـ، الموافق 2/11/ 2004 م تاريخ لا يُنسى، فقدت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة فيه قائدها وباني اتحادها بعد مسيرة عطاء طويلة استمرت قرابة أربعة عقود، وحزن عليه الصغير والكبير. وكان الخبر صادماً لكل أبناء الإمارات.
    نعت الدول العربية والأجنبية المغفور له -بإذن الله -الشيخ زايداً، وحزن لفقده كثير من شعوب العالم، وأصدر رؤساء الحكومات الدولية رسائل رثاء مليئة بعبارات الأسى لشخص يكنّ له كل العالم التقدير والاحترام، واعتبر الكثير رحيله خسارة كبيرة نظراً لإنجازاته التي لا يمكن حصرها.
    كان عزاء أهل الإمارات في أبناء زايد الذين تعلّموا وترعرعوا بالقرب من والدهم الذي يعتبر أعظم مدرسة في القيادة والحكم العادل؛ فكان الشيخ خليفة بن زايد خيرَ خَلَفٍ لخير سَلَفٍ، تولّى الحكم بعد والده بموافقة ومباركة من جميع شيوخ الإمارات والشعب كافة.